20 Years of BSCW, the Groupware Developed at Fraunhofer FIT

Basic Support for Cooperative Work

© Photo OrbiTeam Software GmbH & Co. KG

In 1995, when the World Wide Web was in its infancy, when Netscape was the browser and Altavista the search engine, Fraunhofer FIT released version 1.0 of BSCW, the fully web-based groupware system. In 2015, Fraunhofer FIT, OrbiTeam Software and over a hundred guests came together to celebrate the 20th anniversary of BSCW.

In 1994, Fraunhofer FIT developed the first prototype of a groupware system intended to let its users define teams and jointly manage documents in a virtual team room quickly and easily. At the time, none of the researchers involved had any idea that this would be the start not only of a successful product, but of a whole new class of web applications.

In 1995, the first public BSCW server went online, which – upgraded regularly – can still be used free of charge. Being the first fully web-based groupware system, BSCW was awarded the European Software Innovation Prize in 1996. As the number of users grew rapidly, we founded a spin-off company, OrbiTeam Software GmbH & Co KG, in 1998. OrbiTeam has since been marketing BSCW very successfully and also contributes significantly to its ongoing development.

The version history of BSCW reflects the evolution of the Web and of groupware systems to the present day. In the first few years, enhancements focused on access rights, role definitions and functionality like calendars, to make BSCW fit for commercial use.

In the early years of the new millennium, the Web evolved from information medium to social communication medium, as FIT had predicted in our Social Web research program in 2001. In line with this trend, the recent versions of BSCW show how Social Media functionality like blogs, activity streams or wikis can extend groupware systems to let teams and organizations collaborate flexibly in networks.

Today, its rich functionality and its flexible API make BSCW the platform of choice for a wide range of enhancements, e.g. the EnArgus information system on energy research. BSCW also serves as the management and development platform for a plethora of national and international research projects. With an installed base of far beyond 1,000 servers in industry and academia, BSCW will continue to be a platform for cooperation in particular of small and medium enterprises and help them meet the challenges of digitization. 

Test BSCW free of charge

The software developed within the project, i.e., the BSCW shared workspace server – an extension to a normal WWW server – and other tools, e.g., for transfering files from a local file system to a BSCW server, is publicly available for download for a trial period of 90 days. Licenses for the BSCW server software are available from FIT's spin-off company OrbiTeam Software GmbH & Co. KG. Furthermore, FIT runs a public BSCW server at bscw.fit.fraunhofer.de where everyone is invited to establish their own workspaces and use them for collaboration with friends and colleagues.

20 Jahre FIT-Groupware BSCW

Basic Support for Cooperative Work

© Foto OrbiTeam Software GmbH & Co. KG

1995, als das World Wide Web noch in den Kinderschuhen steckte, Browser noch Netscape und Suchmaschinen noch Altavista hießen, veröffentlichte Fraunhofer FIT mit dem BSCW die erste Version eines Groupware-Systems, das vollständig webbasiert war. In 2015 feierte Fraunhofer FIT gemeinsam mit OrbiTeam Software und über hundert Gästen den 20. Geburtstag von BSCW.

1994 entwickelte FIT den ersten Prototypen eines Groupware-Systems, das Benutzern auf einfache schnelle und leichtgewichtige Art und Weise erlauben sollte, Teams zu bilden und Dokumente in einem virtuellen Teamraum kooperativ zu verwalten. Damals konnte noch niemand ahnen, dass damit ein Grundstein nicht nur für ein erfolgreiches Produkt, sondern auch für eine ganze Klasse von Web-Anwendungen gelegt wurde.

Kurz darauf startete der erste öffentliche BSCW Groupware Server, der bis heute in aktualisierter Form zur freien Benutzung zur Verfügung steht. 1996 wurde BSCW der Europäische Software Innovations Preis als erste vollständig webbasierte Groupware verliehen. Als Konsequenz des rasanten Nutzerwachstums in den Folgejahren wurde 1998 ein Spinoff gegründet die OrbiTeam Software Gmbh & Co KG, die seither BSCW erfolgreich vermarktet und in Kooperation mit FIT auch wesentlich weiter entwickelt hat.

Die verschiedenen Versionen von BSCW spiegeln sehr gut die Geschichte des Webs und der Groupware bis heute wider. So standen in den ersten Jahren Erweiterungen im Fokus, die die Kooperationsplattform mit Hilfe von Zugriffsrechten, Rollenbeschreibungen und funktionalen Ergänzungen wie Kalendern für den betrieblichen Einsatz optimierten.

In den ersten Jahren des neuen Jahrtausends entwickelte sich das Web von einem Informationsmedium immer stärker zu einem sozialen Kommunikationsmedium, wie es FIT schon 2001 in seinem Forschungsprogramm Social Web beschrieben hatte. So demonstrierte BSCW in den letzten Versionen, wie eine Groupware sinnvoll mit Social Media-Funktionen wie Blogs, Activity Streams oder Wikis ergänzt werden muss, damit Teams und Organisationen flexibel und in Netzwerken zusammen arbeiten können.

Heute ist BSCW mit seinem reichen Funktionsangebot und seiner flexiblen Programmierschnittstelle eine Plattform für zahlreiche Weiterentwicklungen, wie zum Beispiel das Informationssystem für Energieforschungsvorhaben EnArgus. Gleichzeitig ist BSCW auch Management- und Entwicklungsplattform einer Vielzahl nationaler und internationaler Forschungsprojekte. Mit weit über 1000 Server-Installationen im akademischen und industriellen Umfeld und weltweit über 1 Million Nutzern wird BSCW auch in Zukunft für mittelständische Unternehmen eine Kooperationsplattform sein, die hilft, die Herausforderungen der Digitalisierung zu meistern.

BSCW-Software testen

Die BSCW Software wird als Erweiterung Ihres Webservers installiert. Die Software kann 3 Monate kostenfrei getestet werden. Lizenzen erhalten Sie bei unserem Spin-Off OrbiTeam SoftwareGmbH & Co. KG. Oder besuchen Sie unseren öffentlichen BSCW Server und richten Sie zur Zusammenarbeit mit Kollegen oder Freuden Ihren eigenen Workspace ein.