CLOUDTEAMS

Software Development in the Cloud

© Photo www.cloudteams.eu

The CloudTeams collaboration platform enables end users and software developers to collaborate in early stages of software creation and helps software teams to deliver better software products for end users. Now, CloudTeams.eu is online and open for beta testers for free. 

CloudTeams targets startups and SMEs, as well as tech-savvy customers. Start-ups and SMEs, having not the time and money to find a matching target group and gain deep market insights, collaboratively develop software that meets the customers’ needs. Tech-savvy customers, being interested in current developments from software teams and willing to do a little work for influencing future developments, make their voice heard by developers.

Software developers register their software project on the platform, draft campaigns with questionnaires, select their target group, and ask end users for their feedback on the project idea, mock-ups, and prototypes. End users fill in their profile, follow interesting software projects, get notified of and participate in running campaigns, and collect rewards for their feedback. The interaction between the end user and developer community happens in a privacy respectful way as data of end user is anonymized. More benefits for software teams are advanced team collaboration and project management tools, and connectors to popular third-party services for software development and testing.

Fraunhofer FIT is the coordinator of the EU-funded CloudTeams project (Collaborative Software Development Framework based on Trusted, Secure Cloud-based Pool of Users), leads the development of the CloudTeams Collaboration Platform, and develops the team platform component for the developer community.  The team platform is an extension of FIT’s groupware system BSCW which is in the market since more than 20 years. BSCW has been extended and newly designed to the CloudTeams requirements.

CLOUDTEAMS

Software entwickeln in der Cloud

© Foto www.cloudteams.eu

Die CloudTeams-Kollaborationsplattform unterstützt die Zusammenarbeit von Endbenutzern und Software-Entwicklern bereits zu Beginn des Entwicklungsprozesses. Über die Plattform können Software-Entwickler die potentiellen Endkunden von Anfang an miteinbeziehen und so bessere Produkte erstellen. Die vom Fraunhofer FIT maßgeblich mitentwickelte CloudTeams-Plattform ist jetzt offen für Beta-Tester.

Die CloudTeams-Plattform richtet sich sowohl an Startups sowie kleine oder mittlere Unternehmen auf der einen Seite,  als auch an Software-Endbenutzer auf der anderen Seite. Ersteren fehlt oftmals ein vertrauenswürdiger Kundenkreis, noch haben sie Zeit und die finanziellen Ressourcen für teure Marktanalysen. Auf CloudTeams.eu können sie gemeinsam mit Benutzern, die zu ihrer Zielgruppe passen, ihre Software-Produkte realisieren. Interessierte Endbenutzer können ihre Wünsche und Ideen äußern und erhalten eine Software, die ihren Bedarf erfüllt.

Software-Entwickler richten ihr Projekt auf der Plattform ein, entwerfen Umfragen, wählen ihre Zielgruppe aus und erhalten Rückmeldungen auf ihre Projektidee, Mockups und Prototypen. Endbenutzer füllen ihr persönliches Profil aus, folgen interessanten Projekten, werden über laufende Projekte informiert und können an Umfragen teilnehmen. Zum Schutz der Privatsphäre werden Daten von Endbenutzern stets anonymisiert an die Software-Entwickler weitergegeben. Weitere Vorteile für Software-Entwickler sind leichtgewichtige und effiziente Kollaborations- und Projektmanagement-Werkzeuge sowie Konnektoren zu populären Software-Entwicklungsplattformen von Drittanbietern.

Die Kollaborationsplattform wurde im EU-Projekt »CloudTeams – Collaborative Software Development Framework based on Trusted, Secure Cloud-based Pool of Users« unter Leitung des Fraunhofer FIT entwickelt. Die Team-Plattformkomponente für Software-Entwickler  ist eine Weiterentwicklung des Fraunhofer FIT Groupware Systems BSCW, welches seit mehr als 20 Jahren erfolgreich im Markt ist. BSCW wurde für CloudTeams um neue Funktionen erweitert und neu gestaltet.