Integration of cooperation tools

Technological development has been changing collaboration within and between organizations significantly. When complex, interdisciplinary jobs must be done effectively and efficiently, knowledge workers today need to be able to cooperate flexibly, ad-hoc and across organizational boundaries. Developing integrated system support for this type of cooperation is the mission of the international ECOSPACE project that is coordinated by FIT and involves more than 20 European partners and a budget of over 12 million €. Fraunhofer FIT here contributes its experience and competence in the coordination of large projects with international partners from research, the private and the public sector; we are responsible for the transfer of results through our Virtual Cooperation Lab – VIRAL, and for the development of the integrated cooperation tools.

ECOSPACE reduces information and communication overload by providing integrated solutions. The project developed a reference architecture for integrating different cooperation tools based on a service-oriented approach (SOA). It used Semantic Web technologies for the selection of suitable services and linked together a broad range of services and applications. Thus for the first time different groupware systems have been seamlessly integrated. Together, the results improve contextual and presence awareness, make available information on user behavior when using the cooperation tools and offer a broad range of Web 2.0 tools in a consistent, interoperable cooperation platform.

Practical suitability of the results is safeguarded by the strong involvement of users and user organizations in the ECOSPACE Living Labs; the user-centered design process helps to optimize the systems developed in the project.

More than 60 publications and numerous talks reported the results of ECOSPACE. Expertise and IT-systems developed on that foundation are used in consulting assignments and development projects, e.g. the ongoing development of the widely-used BSCW groupware.

ECOSPACE was partly funded by the European Commission under 6th Framework Program.

ECOSPACE

Integration von Kooperationswerkzeugen

Die Zusammenarbeit in und zwischen Unternehmen hat sich in den letzten Jahren durch technologische Entwicklungen massiv verändert. Wissensarbeiter müssen heute flexibel, ad-hoc und über Organisationsgrenzen hinweg kooperieren können, um komplexe fachübergreifende Aufgaben effektiv und effizient zu bewältigen. An einer integrierten Systemunterstützung dafür arbeitet das von Fraunhofer FIT koordinierte internationale Verbundprojekt ECOSPACE, mit mehr als 20 europäischen Partnern und einem Projektvolumen von über 12 Mio. €. Fraunhofer FIT nutzt hier seine Kompetenzen in der Koordination großer Verbundprojekte zwischen Wissenschaft und Praxis mit internationalen Partnern aus Industrie, Forschung und öffentlicher Hand, verantwortet den Praxistransfer durch das Virtuelle KooperationslaborVIRAL und leitet die Entwicklung der integrierten Kooperationswerkzeuge.

ECOSPACE reduziert die Informations- und Kommunikationsüberlastung durch integrierte Lösungen. Dafür wurde eine Referenzarchitektur zur Integration unterschiedlicher Kooperationswerkzeuge auf Basis eines service-orientierten Ansatzes (SOA) entwickelt; Semantic Web-Technologien zur Auswahl situationsangepasster Dienste wurden integriert und vielfältige Dienste und Anwendungen verknüpft. Damit wurde erstmalig eine transparente Integration verschiedener Groupware-Systeme realisiert. Insgesamt verbessern die Ergebnisse die Transparenz und Sichtbarkeit in verteilten Prozessen, machen Daten über das Benutzerverhalten im Umgang mit den Kooperationssystemen nutzbar und stellen zahlreiche Web 2.0-Werkzeuge in einer einheitlichen, interoperablen Kooperationsplattform bereit.

Die Praxistauglichkeit der entwickelten Lösungen wird gewährleistet durch eine starke Einbindung von Benutzern und Organisationen in die ECOSPACE Living Labs; der nutzerzentrierte Gestaltungsprozess trägt zur Verbesserung der Systeme bei.

Die Ergebnisse von ECOSPACE wurden in mehr als 60 Publikationen und zahlreichen Vorträgen veröffentlicht. Die ECOSPACE Ergebnisse und IT-Lösungen stehen für Beratungs- und Entwicklungsprojekte zur Verfügung und sind bereits in die Weiterentwicklung bestehender Kooperationssysteme eingeflossen, etwa der BSCW Groupware.

  • Offizielle Projektseite: www.ip-ecospace.org