EnArgus

Making Energy Research Funding Information Public

© Photo Sergey Nivens/Shutterstock

In the EnArgus project, energy researchers, computer scientists and linguists cooperate to make information on 45 years of government funding for energy research in Germany available to the public. The www.enargus.de portal went online in April 2015.

To make government funding of energy research more transparent and to make it easier for the public to evaluate technology developments are two of the goals of Germany's 6th Federal Energy Research Program. As a major contribution to these goals, a project consortium led by Fraunhofer FIT developed a centralized energy research information system. For researchers, funding agencies, politicians and the general public, EnArgus provides a central access point to information about energy research in Germany. The system does not collect any new data, but connects to existing databases from several different sources, relating them on a semantic level.

To interrelate the existing data, EnArgus uses a proprietary ontology that is derived semi-automatically from over 2,000 edited wiki texts. The ontology-based semantic search makes it possible to search effectively in large project databases with currently over 18,000 project entries. The query results can be further refined using a faceted search for funding period, amount of grant, state of recipient and funding agency, and sorted by several different criteria. Results may also be converted to a diagram view or an interactive map just by clicking a button. Users may study the underlying terminology in a wiki and browse relationships between terms, e.g. synonyms, constituents, generic or subordinate terms.

Besides this interface for the public, EnArgus also offers extended views on the data for closed user groups in ministries, funding agencies and energy research institutes.

EnArgus

Transparenz in der Energieforschung

© Foto Sergey Nivens/Shutterstock

EnArgus, ein interdisziplinäres Forschungsprojekt von Energieforschern, Informatikern und Linguisten, ermöglicht erstmals einen öffentlichen Zugang zu Informationen über die Energieforschungsförderung in Deutschland seit 1970. Das Portal www.enargus.de ist seit April 2015 erreichbar.

Staatliche Förderpolitik in der Energieforschung transparenter zu gestalten und die Bewertung von Technologieentwicklungen zu erleichtern, sind beides erklärte Ziele des 6.Energieforschungsprogramms der Bundesregierung. Vor diesem Hintergrund entwickelte das EnArgus Projektkonsortium unter Leitung des Fraunhofer FIT ein zentrales Informationssystem für Energieforschungsvorhaben. EnArgus bietet Wissenschaftlern, Projektträgern und Politikern sowie der interessierten Öffentlichkeit einen einheitlichen und zentralen Zugang zu Informationen über die Energieforschung in der Bundesrepublik. Dabei werden keine neuen Daten erhoben, sondern bestehende Vorhabendatenbasen aus verschiedenen Quellen eingebunden und semantisch verknüpft.

EnArgus verbindet die bestehenden Daten mittels einer eigens erstellten Fachontologie, die semi-automatisch aus über 2000 redaktionell erstellten Wiki-Texten abgeleitet wird. Die auf der Ontologie aufbauende semantische Suche ermöglicht eine treffsichere Recherche in großen Datenbanken von Fördervorhaben mit derzeit über 18 000 Projekteinträgen. Die aufgelisteten Ergebnisse können über eine Facettensuche nach Zeitraum, bewilligter Summe, Landesgrenzen und Zuwendungsgeber verfeinert und nach unterschiedlichen Kriterien sortiert werden. Außerdem können die Suchergebnisse auf Knopfdruck in eine Diagramm-Ansicht oder eine interaktive Kartenansicht überführt werden. Das zugrunde liegende Fachvokabular kann im Wiki nachgelesen werden. Zusammenhänge zwischen den Begriffen – wie Synonyme, Ober- und Unterbegriffe, Bestandteile – lassen sich einfach browsen.

Neben diesem öffentlichen Zugang bietet EnArgus auch erweiterte Ansichten für geschlossene Benutzerkreise bei Ministerien, Projektträgern und Energieforschern.