IPCity

Integrated Project on Interaction and Presence in Urban Environments

© Photo Fraunhofer FIT

A time portal opens at the Cologne bank of the Rhine.

In this scene the players have to assist the landing of a virtual UFO.

Augmented reality applications are a research field where FIT enjoys a high reputation in the global science community. In the last few years, FIT was a partner in a number of groundbreaking projects, among them IPCity (Integrated Project on Interaction and Presence in Urban Environments), which was coordinated by FIT and successfully completed in March 2010. Among the results of IPCity is the augmented reality game TimeWarp.

In TimeWarp the players followed, in teams of two, the traces of the Heinzelmännchen on the left bank of the Rhine. The Heinzelmännchen used a time machine to travel to several epochs in Cologne’s history and future. Diverging from the historical tale, here the Heinzelmännchen needed the help of humans, so the TimeWarp players quickly found themselves acting in an adventure with real and virtual actors in an augmented reality. The TimeWarp game offered a playful introduction to Cologne’s history, presenting scenes from Roman times, the middle ages and even a possible future of the city.

Instead of optical markers TimeWarp used state-of-the-art sensors to determine the position and orientation of the virtual components. This allowed the players to move about freely and even to watch elements of the augmented game world from a greater distance, e.g. the landing of a UFO in front of the building of the regional craft association.

The comprehensive field-test and evaluation of TimeWarp, early in 2010, involved 66 players and created quite a buzz in the regional papers, radio and television.

IPCity was partly funded by the European Commission under 6th Framework Program.

IPCity

Integrated Project on Interaction and Presence in Urban Environments

© Foto Fraunhofer FIT

Ein »Zeitportal« öffnet sich am Kölner Rheinufer.

In dieser Szene müssen die Spieler bei der Landung eines virtuellen Ufos helfen.

Augmented Reality (AR) Anwendungen sind ein Forschungsfeld, in dem Fraunhofer FIT in der Science Community weltweit hohes Ansehen genießt. Das Institut war in den letzten Jahren an zahlreichen Leitprojekten beteiligt, unter anderem am im März 2010 abgeschlossenen Projekt IPCity (Integrated Project on Interaction and Presence in Urban Environments), das FIT auch koordinierte. Ein Ergebnis daraus ist unter anderem das Augmented Reality-Spiel »TimeWarp«.

Im Spiel »TimeWarp« begaben sich die Spieler in Zweierteams am Kölner Rheinufer auf die Spuren der Heinzelmännchen. Diese waren mit einer Zeitmaschine in verschiedene Epochen gereist und mussten von den Spielern wieder gefunden werden. Im Gegensatz zur Sage benötigten die Heinzelmännchen diesmal aber die Hilfe der Menschen, und so fanden sich die Spieler von »TimeWarp« schnell als Akteure in einem Abenteuer mit realen und virtuellen Darstellern in der erweiterten Realität wieder. Dabei bot »TimeWarp« einen spielerischen Umgang mit der Stadtgeschichte und zeigte Szenen aus der Römerzeit, dem Mittelalter und der (möglichen) Zukunft.

Anstatt optischer Marken verwendete »TimeWarp« modernste Sensorik zur Positionierung und Orientierung der virtuellen Komponenten. Dadurch konnten sich die Spieler völlig frei bewegen und die aufwendig gestaltete erweiterte Spielewelt auch aus größerer Entfernung erleben, etwa bei der Landung eines Ufos vor dem Haus des Kölner Handwerks.

»TimeWarp« wurde Anfang 2010 in einem umfangreichen Feldtest mit 66 Spielern in Köln evaluiert und rief ein großes Presseecho in Print, Radio und Fernsehen hervor.

Das Projekt IPCity wurde durch die EU im 6. Rahmenprogramm gefördert.