ODS – OpenDiscoverySpace

European Web platform for teaching materials

We are in the midst of the transformation of schools into the teaching institutions for the 21st century. For teachers, more and more valuable teaching materials are available on the Web. Unfortunately, though, this wealth of material is hardly utilized in schools‘ everyday practice. The OpenDiscoveryProject (ODS) aims to change this unfortunate situation by creating a web platform that provides services and materials tailored to the requirements of different types of schools and curricula.

Increasingly, schools are being required to prepare their students better for life in the 21st century. Essentially, this means that schools ought to teach their pupils more successfully to think flexibly and to solve problems quickly and skillfully. Therefore, schools need (free) access to appropriate open educational resources. A great amount of very well suited educational resources is available online but is rarely used because teachers simply don’t find it.

The new ODS web platform changes this situation. ODS facilitates finding suitable educational resources across Europe easily. Using ODS, teachers can very easily share, create, use, find and comment on educational resources in their specific contexts. In contrast to other educational platforms, ODS considers differences in the local situation, e.g. different types of schools, different didactic concepts and different languages, for finding appropriate educational resources.

Fraunhofer FIT supports implementing the technical infrastructure for enabling personalized and contextualized searching and finding, building upon the expertise from similar projects like MACE, OpenScout or NaturalEurope. In addition, FIT is a leading contributor to the development and standardization of a description of social metadata for educational resources. On the basis of our CAM format we work on proposals for the optimal integration of social metadata, e.g. evaluations or comments, and we are involved in the standardization of the description language developed in the project.

ODS – OpenDiscoverySpace

Europäische Web-Plattform für Lehrmaterialien

Der Umbau der Schule für die Herausforderungen des 21. Jahrhunderts ist in vollem Gange. Immer mehr Lehrmaterialen sind für Lehrer im Internet verfügbar. Nur leider wird das umfangreiche Material bisher kaum im schulischen Alltag genutzt. Ändern soll dies die OpenDiscoverySpace (ODS) Web-Plattform, die Dienste und Inhalte an die Bedarfe verschiedener Lehrer und ihrer Kontexte anpasst.

Zunehmend werden Schulen aufgefordert, Schüler besser auf das Leben im 21. Jahrhundert vorzubereiten. Im Wesentlichen ist damit gemeint, dass die Schulen ihre Schüler besser als bisher darin unterrichten, flexibel zu denken und Probleme schnell und geschickt zu lösen. Dafür wird entsprechendes Lehrmaterial (Educational Resources) benötigt. Tatsächlich ist mittlerweile solches Material online in großer Menge verfügbar, wird aber überwiegend noch wenig genutzt, weil es nicht gefunden wird.

Helfen soll hier die neue ODS Web-Plattform, die Lehrinhalte europaweit auffindbar macht. Lehrer können damit Lehrmaterialien sehr einfach austauschen, kreieren, verwenden, finden und auch kommentieren. Im Unterschied zu ähnlichen Diensten bezieht ODS die lokalen Gegebenheiten, etwa unterschiedliche Schulformen, Lehrkonzepte und Sprachen in Europa, in das Finden der Lehrmaterialien ein.

Fraunhofer FIT unterstützt bei der Realisation der technischen Infrastrukturen für die Bereitstellung der Lehrinhalte und kann dabei auf der Expertise aus ähnlichen Projekten aufbauen, etwa MACE, OpenScout oder NaturalEurope. Zudem trägt das FIT maßgeblich zur Entwicklung und Standardisierung einer Beschreibung von sozialen Metadaten für die Lehrmaterialien bei. Basierend auf dem vom FIT entwickelten CAM-Format werden Vorschläge ausgearbeitet, wie soziale Metadaten des Materials, etwa Bewertungen oder Kommentare, idealerweise integriert werden können. Darüber hinaus wirkt das FIT bei der Standardisierung der entwickelten Beschreibungssprache mit.