Medical Data Space

Fraunhofer Medical Data Space

Tailoring the Industrial Data Space to the health care sector and the life sciences

Ongoing digitization in every sector of the economy, in all spheres of life is creating fields of conflict between exponentially growing amounts of data being collected, on the one hand, and increasing need for privacy, secure communication and sovereignty over data being commercialized, on the other. Looking at health-related information in particular, integrating medical data from diverse sources holds great potential for medical research, health care and the life sciences, but it also creates specific challenges concerning the patients' personal rights and property rights over their data. By developing the Medical Data Space, Fraunhofer Gesellschaft hopes to make a significant, lasting contribution to reaping the benefits of digitization in the medical field through innovative IT solutions for secure exchange of medical data across institutional boundaries. In line with the aims of preventive, personalized, precise and participative medical care ("4p medicine"), this communication, which will conform to existing rules and standards, focuses on the patients.

MedDS –Tailoring the Industrial Data Space to the health care sector and the life sciences

In 2015, Fraunhofer Gesellschaft, business leaders and politicians presented the Industrial Data Space concept aimed at safeguarding the sovereignty of businesses over their own data. The Industrial Data Space focuses on production in industry and is being developed as a foundation for Industry 4.0, supporting primarily the direct exchange of data among business partners. The concept assumes that this exchange is driven by real-time data – partly generated in cyber-physical systems – that are processed in dynamic, self-organizing inter-organizational value networks. As a consequence, data is an important asset, next to labor, goods and services.

In the health care sector and in the life sciences, data is not the primary asset. In the Medical Data Space all activities focus on preserving or restoring the patients' health as effectively and efficiently as possible, on diagnosing diseases earlier and treating them with fewer side-effects, and on identifying new challenges for scientific research and producing robust results. As in the Industrial Data Space, this will be require specific cooperation structures:

  • Medical treatment will become a process with increasing inter-sector division of labor, where experts in a network of physicians, nurses, therapists etc. collaborate in healing the patients.
  • Due to growing specialization, clinical researchers must collaborate in conducting medical research. The complexity and specificity of their questions as well as requirementsof individualized therapy make it necessary to compile completely novel data sets of groups of patients that may be living in places all over the world.
  • Modern drug development requires creating 'real-world evidence' by bringing together the data worlds on drug research and on medical therapy, which are clearly separate until now.

In all these scenarios it is plain to see that data will be key to preventive, personalized, precise and participative health care. However, their full potential can be tapped only by integrating these highly dispersed, heterogeneous data. Whether it is data on therapies, data from clinical research or data generated by cyber-physical medical devices – only integrating, processing and analyzing them will create value. More so than in the Industrial Data Space, these data must be analyzed, combined and annotated in a collaboration of human and artificial intelligence. Obviously, these data collections, which are created to answer temporary questions related to specific issues or fields of study, can be managed effectively only if highly diverse partners work together efficiently.

Medical Data Space

Digitale Souveränität über medizinische Daten

Fraunhofer Medical Data Space

Eine Spezialisierung und Weiterentwicklung des Industrial Data Space für das Gesundheitswesen und die Life Sciences

Die fortschreitende Digitalisierung aller Lebens- und Geschäftsbereiche erzeugt derzeit ein Spannungsfeld aus exponentiell wachsenden Datenbeständen bei gleichzeitig steigendem Bedürfnis nach Datenschutz, sicherem Datenaustausch und Souveränität über Daten als Wirtschaftsgut. Für gesundheitsbezogene Informationen ergibt sich aus der Vernetzung medizinischer Datenbestände großes Potenzial für die medizinische Forschung, die Gesundheitsversorgung und die Life Sciences, jedoch auch besondere Herausforderungen hinsichtlich des Schutzes von Eigentums- und Persönlichkeitsrechten der Patienten. Mit dem vorliegenden Konzept zur Entwicklung eines »Medical Data Space« möchte die Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft nachhaltig dazu beitragen, die Chancen der Digitalisierung in der Medizin mithilfe innovativer IT-Lösungen für einen sicheren Austausch medizinischer Daten über die Grenzen von Institutionen hinweg zu nutzen. Im Sinne einer präventiven, personalisierten, präzisen und partizipativen Versorgung (4P-Medizin), stehen Patientinnen und Patienten im Fokus dieser zu geltenden Richtlinien und Normen konformen Kommunikation. 

MedDS – Eine Spezialisierung und Weiterentwicklung des Industrial Data Space für das Gesundheitswesen und die Life Sciences

Die Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft hat 2015 gemeinsam mit Wirtschaft und Politik unter dem Namen Industrial Data Space ein Konzept zur Sicherung der Souveränität über firmeneigene Daten vorgestellt. Der Industrial Data Space ist auf die industrielle Produktion ausgerichtet und wird als eine Grundlage für Industrie 4.0 entwickelt, um in erster Linie dem direkten Datenaustausch zwischen Geschäftspartnern zu dienen. Treiber sind in Echtzeit verfügbare Daten, die teilweise aus cyber-physikalischen Systemen gewonnen oder abgeleitet-, die in dynamischen, sich selbst organisierenden und unternehmensübergreifenden Wertschöpfungsnetzen verarbeitet werden. Daten stellen somit, neben Arbeitsleistung, Waren und Services ein wichtiges Wirtschaftsgut dar. 

Im Gesundheitswesen und den Life Sciences sind jedoch nicht die Daten das primäre Wirtschaftsgut. Alle Aktivitäten fokussieren darauf, die Gesundheit der Patienten so effizient und effektiv wie möglich wieder herzustellen oder zu erhalten bzw. Krankheiten frühzeitiger zu erkennen und gezielter zu behandeln, sowie im Sinne der translationalen Forschung neue wissenschaftliche Fragestellungen zu generieren und nachhaltig zu beantworten. Auch hierzu bedarf es, in Analogie zum Industrial Data Space, Kooperationsstrukturen z.B.:

  • Medizinische Behandlung wird ein zunehmend arbeitsteiliger Prozess (in intersektoralen Strukturen), in denen Patienten von einem Netzwerk von Experten (Ärzte, Pfleger, Therapeuten) behandelt werden.
  • Medizinische Forschung verlangt durch zunehmende Spezialisierung eine Zusammenarbeit von klinisch Forschenden. Die Komplexität und Tiefe von Fragestellungen sowie Anforderungen der individualisierten Medizin erfordern vollständig neuartige Datenzusammenstellungen über Patientenkollektive, die z.T. weltweit verteilt sind.
  • Moderne pharmakologische Produktentwicklungen erfordern ein Zusammenführen der heute oft noch getrennt vorliegenden Datenwelten zur Medikamentenforschung und medizinischen Therapie (Real World Evidence).

In all diesen Szenarien ist offensichtlich, dass Daten den Schlüssel zu einer präventiven, personalisierten, präzisen und partizipativen Versorgung bilden werden. Das vollständige Potenzial lässt sich jedoch erst durch einen Zusammenschluss der hochverteilten, heterogenen Daten erschließen. Ob Therapiedaten, klinische Forschungsdaten oder Daten aus cyber-physikalischen medizintechnischen Systemen – Wertschöpfung ergibt sich erst durch Integration, Verarbeitung und Analyse eben dieser. Dazu müssen – stärker als beim Industrial Data Space – einzelne Daten kooperativ zwischen menschlicher und künstlicher Intelligenz analysiert, kombiniert und annotiert werden. Es ist offensichtlich, dass solche Datenräume, die aus temporären, sach- oder fachbezogenen Fragestellungen entstehen, die Zusammenarbeit verschiedenster Partner für ein modernes Datenmanagement erfordert.