SWAPit

Fraunhofer Institute for Applied Information Technology FIT

Explorative Text and Data Mining: Use your intuition and experience to exploit the full potential of your knowledge

A large portion of an enterprise's strategically relevant information is contained in text documents. No matter if you look for patents, product descriptions, meeting minutes, letters from your customers, or articles from the trade press: You'll have a hard time getting an overview of the huge amount of unstructured information. Single documents may have many hidden but valuable relationships. But that's not all: Your text data is related to many other pieces of information, like product or project data, customer records, human resources and departments.

Fraunhofer-FIT's text- and data analysis tool SWAPit not only visualises semantic relationships among text documents. It also clearly arranges all associated information on a single screen! This gives you an X-ray view for your document archives. Using your intuition and experience you'll be able to exploit the full potential of your knowledge:

  • Your CRM staff detects the characteristics of those customer groups that share common interests in your products and services.
  • Analysing inquiries to your customer support centre, your marketing department realises which features could enhance your products - and which segment of your customers is ready to pay for that.
  • With just a few clicks your R+D department knows how the patent situation in your technology area has developed over time.

Application Examples

SWAPit has been successfully used in many applications, e. g.

  • Business intelligence: Navigate trade news and link news items to internal KPI measurements.
  • Insurance companies: Relate customer complaints with master data and contract information.
  • Software engineering: Group and structure large collections of use cases.
  • Quality assurance: Analyse technical documentation.
  • Innovation management: Cluster and analyse ideas and brainstorming notes.
  • R+D planning: Analyse patent portfolios.
  • Knowledge management: Analyse documents and extract terminologies.

Technology

Central component of SWAPit is the DocMINER text mining engine, a technology that automatically detects relationships within text collections and generates graphical overviews (document maps). DocMINER makes it comfortable to find a way through the mass of information. Documents can be linked to relational data from databases and taxonomies (catalogues), thus complementing the overall picture of available knowledge.

SWAPit combines state-of-the-art methodologies from statistics, retrieval, artificial intelligence and visualisation. SWAPit's modular architecture turns the integration into existing infrastructures (e.g. company portals) basically into a matter of customisation. A thin client is served by web services for analysis, visualisation and interaction. Inter-service communication is XML-based (SOAP protocol). The graphical user interface is realised in Java™ technology, making the approach independent of operating system and browser.

SWAPit

Exploratives Text und Data Mining

© Foto Fraunhofer FIT

Ein großer Teil der strategisch relevanten Informationen Ihres Unternehmens liegt in Textform vor. Ob Patente, Produktbeschreibungen, Sitzungsprotokolle, Kundenkorrespondenz oder Artikel aus der Fachpresse: Einen Überblick über die schiere Masse an unstrukturierten Informationen und ihre aufschlussreichen Zusammenhänge zu bekommen ist jedoch schwierig. Zudem stehen Texte nicht nur untereinander in Beziehung, sondern sind mit vielen weiteren Daten verknüpft, z. B. mit Produkten und Projekten, Kunden, Mitarbeitern oder Organisationseinheiten.

Unser Text- und Datenanalysewerkzeug SWAPit veranschaulicht nicht nur die inhaltlichen Beziehungen zwischen den Textdokumenten, sondern präsentiert auch alle relevanten Zusatzinformationen auf einem Bildschirm. SWAPit verleiht Ihnen damit ein Röntgenauge für Ihre Textarchive. Gepaart mit der Intuition und Erfahrung Ihrer Mitarbeiter hilft SWAPit Ihrem Unternehmen, Wissenspotenziale zu heben:

  • Ihr CRM-Mitarbeiter entdeckt, welche Eigenschaften Kundengruppen haben, die sich mit ähnlichen Wünschen an Ihr Unternehmen wenden.
  • Ihre Marketingabteilung erkennt anhand der Anfragen im Support-Center, mit welchen Features Sie Ihre Produkte aufwerten können – und welche wirtschaftlich interessanten Kundengruppen sich besonders dafür begeistern.
  • Ihre FuE-Abteilung sieht nach wenigen Klicks, wie die Patentsituation sich in Ihren Technologiebereichen in den letzten Wochen entwickelt hat.

Anwendungsbeispiele

SWAPit wird erfolgreich eingesetzt

  • im Business Intelligence zur Verknüpfung des internen Reportings mit der Fachpresse,
  • im Beschwerdemanagement von Versicherungen zur Analyse der Kunden- und Vertragssituation,
  • im Software Engineering zur Analyse von Nutzungsszenarien,
  • in der technischen Dokumentation zur Qualitätssicherung,
  • im Ideenmanagement zur Auswertung von Brainstormingnotizen,
  • in der Forschungsplanung zur Analyse von Patent-Portfolios,
  • im Terminologiemanagement zur Dokumentenanalyse.

Technologie

Komponente von SWAPit ist die DocMINER Text Mining Engine, die inhaltliche Querbezüge in Textsammlungen automatisch erkennt und grafische Übersichten (Dokumentenlandkarten) erzeugt. Dadurch wird das Zurechtfinden in der Flut von Dokumenten wesentlich erleichtert. Zusätzlich lassen sich mit den Dokumenten leicht Daten aus relationalen Datenbanken sowie aus Taxonomien (Katalogen) verknüpfen, die zum Gesamtbild aller relevanten Wissensbestände beitragen.

SWAPit integriert statistisch-linguistische Textretrieval-Verfahren, leistungsfähige Dimensionsreduktionsmethoden und eine Visualisierungstechnologie auf Basis neuronaler Netze. Die Vergleichskomponente für Texte kann gemäß den Anforderungen des Anwendungsbereichs ausgetauscht werden.

Durch seine flexible Architektur kann SWAPit leicht in verschiedene Anwendungen oder Portale integriert werden: Die Web-Schnittstelle (Thin Client) ist Teil einer offenen, dreischichtigen Architektur. Die Dienstschichten für Strukturierung, Visualisierung und Interaktion sind als Web Services zugreifbar. Datenverwaltung und Inter-Service-Kommunikation sind durchgängig XML-basiert (SOAP). Die integrierbare grafische Benutzerschnittstelle basiert auf Java(tm) Technologie.