ALMANAC

Nerve Tracts for the Smart City

© Photo Marco Saracco/fotolia.de

The Smart City is one of today's major hypes. Everything is to become more progressive, more efficient, cleaner. A lot of projects are working towards this goal. What is lacking, however, is a comprehensive platform that lets a broad range of municipal applications work together. In the European ALMANAC project, Fraunhofer FIT is working with international partners to develop a prototype of such a platform. A key component of this platform is LinkSmart, a service-oriented middleware developed at Fraunhofer FIT.

The first big hurdle in implementing Smart City projects is to work with the existing municipal services, infrastructures, databases and other resources. Here we must accept as given the current technological situation of all the players involved, including waste disposal systems, electric utility companies, water supply companies and telecom providers. Only in a second step will it be possible to implement new technologies and to bring them together with the existing systems.

This is exactly the problem that the European ALMANAC (acronym for Reliable Smart Secure Internet Of Things For Smart Cities) project works on. It is building an open Smart City platform that provides a comprehensive technological basis for a wide range of Smart City applications. One key component of the platform is Fraunhofer FIT's LinkSmart, a service-oriented middleware that provides for semantic interoperability of heterogeneous resources, devices and services. Open interfaces to external services make it possible to continually enhance the platform and corresponding applications. Obviously, privacy and secure communication are important aspects here.

The technical work in ALMANAC is driven by the Smart City requirements of the City of Torino. Here we selected three application fields in which to develop and test the ALMANAC platform: waste management, water supply and citizen engagement. Leading the project on the technical side, Fraunhofer FIT develops the overall system architecture. In addition, FIT works closely with the City of Torino and the local waste management organization on sustainable waste management business cases built on top of the ALMANAC platform. For the initial application, municipal waste containers were equipped with fill-level sensors. Their data are collected via the ALMANAC platform and used by the waste management organization to optimize their logistics and truck routes.

As an initial step to increase citizen engagement, the project deployed an app that the citizens can use to report spots in the city that need to be cleaned. The ALMANAC platform delivers this information to the municipal administration, which feeds it into their existing ticket management system.

ALMANAC

Nervenbahnen für die smarte Stadt

© Foto Marco Saracco/fotolia.de

Smart Cities sind im Trend. Alles soll fortschrittlicher, effizienter und sauberer werden. Projekte dazu gibt es viele. Es fehlt aber eine übergeordnete Strukturplattform, die verschiedene Anwendungen integrieren kann. Diese wird jetzt im Projekt ALMANAC entwickelt. Schlüsselkomponente der Plattform die service-orientierte Middleware LinkSmart des Fraunhofer FIT.

Bei Smart City-Projekten ist die erste große Hürde, die bestehenden städtischen Dienstleistungen, Infrastrukturen, Datenbestände und sonstige Ressourcen zu erfassen. Hierzu ist es nötig, alle beteiligten Player auf ihrem technischen Ist-Stand abzuholen, etwa Entsorgungsunternehmen, Energieversorger, Wasserwerke oder Telekommunikationsanbieter. Im zweiten Schritt können dann neue Technologien implementiert und mit den bestehenden Systemen zusammengeführt werden.

Mit dieser Problematik beschäftigt sich das EU-Projekt ALMANAC (Reliable Smart Secure Internet Of Things For Smart Cities). Es entwickelt eine offene Smart City-Plattform, die als übergeordnete Technologiebasis für verschiedenste Anwendungen fungieren kann. Schlüsselkomponente der Plattform ist die service-orientierte Middleware LinkSmart des Fraunhofer FIT, die semantische Interoperabilität zwischen heterogenen Ressourcen, Geräten und Diensten herstellt. Durch offene Schnittstellen zur Integration externer Dienste wird die kontinuierliche Weiterentwicklung der Plattform und entsprechender Anwendungen gewährleistet. Natürlich sind Datenschutz und sichere Datenübertragung dabei wichtige Aspekte.

Die technische Arbeit in ALMANAC wird von realen Smart City-Anwendungsanforderungen der Stadt Turin getrieben. Hier wurden mit Abfallmanagement, Wasserversorgung und Bürgerbeteiligung drei Anwendungsszenarien ausgewählt, um die ALMANAC-Plattform zu entwickeln und zu erproben. Das Fraunhofer FIT hat die technische Leitung des Projektes und erstellt die übergeordnete Systemarchitektur. Außerdem beschäftigt sich FIT in enger Zusammenarbeit mit der Stadt und den lokalen Entsorgungsbetrieben mit zukunftsfähigen Geschäfts- und Anwendungsfällen im Abfallmanagement. Als erste Anwendung wurden städtische Müllcontainer mit Füllstandssensoren ausgestattet. Die anfallenden Daten werden über die ALMANAC Plattform gesammelt und den Abfallwirtschaftsbetrieben zur Optimierung ihrer Logistik und der Fahrrouten zur Verfügung gestellt.

Um die Bürgerbeteiligung zu erhöhen, wurde eine App entwickelt, mit deren Hilfe Bürger verschmutzte Orte melden können. Über die ALMANAC Plattform werden diese Informationen der Stadt zur Verfügung gestellt und in ihr bestehendes Ticket-Management System integriert.