BEMO-COFRA

Brazil-Europe – Monitoring and Control Frameworks

© Photo Rainer Plendl/fotolia.de

The European manufacturing industry suffers a deep crisis due to an overcapacity of production, while in Brazil there is a steady economic growth that is pushing manufacturing companies to increase their production rates. Despite these differences, in both geographic areas there is an increasing need for flexibility in production activities that must adapt to a continuously changing world market demand. As a consequence, the manufacturing industries will have to be more flexible and better adapting to shifting consumption patterns. The key issue to survive the worldwide competition will be the capacity of putting new and innovative products on the market, enhancing systems flexibility through advanced ICT tools and architectures. This cannot be achieved using the traditional engineering and manufacturing approach but rather a radically new production paradigm must be devised.

The future factories will have to be necessarily characterized by production systems with the capacity to ensure efficiency, performances and robustness, with the constraint of high production variability. To reach such objectives, the engineering of networked monitoring and control solution represents a major concern.

BEMO-COFRA aims at providing generic solutions to these challenges faced in the manufacturing industry by addressing the main weaknesses of present manufacturing systems, which highly affect overall efficiency and reduce competitiveness:

  • Process integration: limited integration among the processes involved in the engineering and management of the plants.
  • Flexibility: difficulties to provide an adequate flexibility of the production plant therefore reducing the capacity of complying with continuously varying product mixes and volumes.
  • Scalability and re-configurability: production systems are not designed to be easily reconfigurable.
  • Manufacturing efficiency: the monitoring of productivity is affected by low diagnostics capacity; there are usually no efficient instruments to detect engineering errors and to prevent installation problems, as well as efficient data logging to enable preventive maintenance.

The BEMO-COFRA project will address both technological aspects and user needs to promote a wider adoption of large-scale networked monitoring and control solutions. In the project vision, this will be attained by:

  • Defining novel mechanisms to enforce reliability of Wireless Sensor And Actuator Networks (WSANs) operating in harsh environments and serving heterogeneous application constraints by means of context awareness, self-configuration and self-adaption capabilities
  • Adopting distributed and decentralized approaches to provide WSANs with scalable monitoring, control and self-diagnosis capabilities.
  • Introducing a Service Oriented Architecture (SoA) and a middleware that, by exposing smart objects capabilities as web services, makes it possible for the innovative WSAN developed within the project to cooperate with legacy devices/systems thanks to semantic interoperability.

Deployment

The BEMO-COFRA infrastructure represents a suitable solution for the management of large-scale complex systems in different application domains e.g. transportation, power and manufacturing. Despite some peculiarities, all such application domains are characterized by a highly networked environment and by an increasing need for integration of different heterogeneous technologies. However, the manufacturing environment poses further unique challenges in terms of harsh radio propagation conditions, dependable operations, real-time or quasi real-time communication constraints and also mobility (e.g. smart objects installed on board moving parts of a production line) that make it particularly suitable for BEMO-COFRA validation purposes.

BEMO-COFRA strives for the realization of a large-scale distributed monitoring and control framework that eases the supervision and the optimization of physical processes. The potential impact of the developed solution will be made visible by demonstrating the capabilities of a BEMO-COFRA-enabled production monitoring and control system deployed in a test bed manufacturing plant provided by COMAU Brazil.

Fraunhofer FIT's participation in BEMO-COFRA

Fraunhofer FIT will ensure the success of the project by applying an overall project management based on the well-known Project Management Institute (PMI) standards. Apart from project coordination, FIT is involved in the development of sensor fusion and context-awareness technologies to enable an intelligent monitoring and control system in the manufacturing domain. FIT together with In-JeT and ISMB are responsible for transferring the results obtained from the Hydra and ebbits projects, e.g. establishing Linksmart middleware in the project, applying middleware design and adaptive-system know-how.

Official project page

The project is partly funded by the European Commission under the 7th Framework Program in the area of EU-Brazil Research and Development cooperation under Grant Agreement no. 288133. The Brazilian funding is provided by CNPq Conselho Nacional de Desenvolvimento Científico e Tecnológico.

BEMO-COFRA

Brazil-Europe – Monitoring and Control Frameworks

© Foto Rainer Plendl/fotolia.de

Die europäische Fertigungsindustrie befindet sich aufgrund von Produktionsüberkapazitäten in einer Krise, während in Brasilien das stetige Wirtschaftswachstum Fertigungsbetriebe dazu drängt, ihre Produktionsleistung zu erhöhen. Trotz dieser Unterschiede steigt in beiden Regionen der Bedarf, die Produktionsaktivitäten zu flexibilisieren, um auf die sich beständig verändernde Nachfrage auf dem Weltmarkt reagieren zu können. Die Fähigkeit, durch fortschrittliche IKT-Werkzeuge und Technologien die Flexibilität der Systeme zu erhöhen und dadurch schnell neue innovative Produkte auf den Markt bringen zu können, ist dabei die Schlüsselkompetenz. Die traditionellen technischen Ansätze im Produktionsbereich können dies nicht leisten.

Fabriken müssen also zukünftig gezwungenermaßen über Produktionssysteme verfügen, die in der Lage sind, Effizienz, Leistung und Robustheit unter der Randbedingung von hoher Variabilität sicherzustellen. Um dies zu erreichen, sind vernetzte Überwachungs- und Steuerungslösungen von zentraler Bedeutung.

BEMO-COFRA hat zum Ziel, generische Lösungen für diese Herausforderungen bereitzustellen, die die wesentlichen, die Gesamteffizienz stark beeinträchtigenden und die Wettbewerbsfähigkeit reduzierenden Schwachpunkte derzeitiger Produktionssysteme reduzieren:

  • mangelnde Prozessintegration: Begrenzte Integration zwischen den Prozessen, die mit der Konstruktion und dem Management von Fabriken verbunden sind
  • wenig Flexibilität: Schwierigkeiten, eine angemessene Flexibilität der Produktionsstätte bereitzustellen, infolgedessen verringertes Vermögen, dem kontinuierlich wechselnden Produktmix und Produktionsvolumen zu genügen
  • keine Skalier- und Rekonfigurierbarkeit: Produktionssysteme sind nicht auf eine einfache Rekonfiguration vorbereitet
  • geringe Produktionseffizienz: Die Überwachung der Produktivität ist aufgrund geringer Diagnosefähigkeiten eingeschränkt; es gibt üblicherweise weder effiziente Werkzeuge, um Konstruktionsfehler zu erkennen und Installationsproblemen vorzubeugen, noch eine effiziente Protokollierung von Daten, die eine vorausschauende Wartung ermöglicht.

Das Projekt BEMO-COFRA adressiert sowohl technische Aspekte als auch Benutzerbedürfnisse, um den breiten Einsatz von Großlösungen für vernetzte Überwachung und Steuerung voranzutreiben. In der Projektvision wird dies erreicht durch:

  • Definition von neuartigen Mechanismen, um die Verlässlichkeit von drahtlosen Sensor-Aktuator-Netzwerken (Wireless Sensor and Actuator Networks – WSAN) durch Kontextsensitivität, Selbstkonfiguration und Selbstanpassung zu stärken, damit diese auch in rauen Umgebungen arbeiten und heterogene Anwendungsbedingungen erfüllen
  • Einsatz von verteilten und dezentralisierten Ansätzen, um WSANs mit skalierbaren Überwachungs-, Steuerungs- und Selbstdiagnosefähigkeiten zur Verfügung zu stellen
  • Einführen einer service-orientierten Architektur (SOA) und einer Middleware, die durch die Bereitstellung von intelligenten Objekteigenschaften als Web Services und semantischer Interoperabilität dafür sorgen, dass die im Projekt entwickelten WSAN mit bestehenden Geräten und Systemen problemlos zusammenzuarbeiten können

Piloteinsatz

Die BEMO-COFRA-Infrastruktur ist eine geeignete Lösung für das Management von komplexen Großsystemen in verschiedenen Anwendungsdomänen, etwa Transport, Energie oder Produktion. Trotz ihrer Besonderheiten sind diese Anwendungsbereiche durch eine hochgradig vernetzte Umgebung und einen steigenden Bedarf der Integration von verschiedenen, heterogenen Technologien gekennzeichnet. Allerdings weisen die verschiedenen Produktionsumgebungen jeweils spezielle Herausforderungen auf – unter anderem raue Bedingungen für Funkwellenausbreitung, verlässliche Vorgänge, Echtzeit- bzw. Quasi-Echtzeit-Kommunikationsrandbedingungen und auch Mobilität, beispielsweise intelligente Objekte, die auf beweglichen Teilen einer Fertigungsstraße installiert sind. Diese erschwerten Bedingungen sind allerdings für Validierungszwecke im BEMO-COFRA Projekt besonderes interessant.

In BEMO-COFRA wird ein Framework zur verteilten Überwachung und Steuerung von Großanlagen realisiert, der die Beobachtung und Optimierung von physischen Prozessen vereinfacht. Das System wird in einer von COMAU Brazil zur Verfügung gestellten Produktionsanlagen-Testumgebung installiert und evaluiert.

Fraunhofer FITs Beteiligung

Fraunhofer FIT sichert den Erfolg des Projekts durch ein Gesamt-Projektmanagement auf Basis der anerkannten Standards des Project Management Institute (PMI). Darüber hinaus ist FIT an der Entwicklung von Sensor-Fusion- und Kontextsensitivitäts-Technologien beteiligt, um ein intelligentes Überwachungs- und Steuerungssystem im Produktionsbereich zu ermöglichen. FIT ist gemeinsam mit den Partnern In-JeT und ISMB verantwortlich, die in den Projekten Hydra und ebbits erzielten Ergebnisse zu vermitteln und insbesondere die LinkSmart Middleware und Know-how im Bereich Middleware Design und Adaptive Systeme ins Projekt einzubringen.

Das Projekt wird von der Europäischen Union (europäische Partner) und von der CNPq Conselho Nacional de Desenvolvimento Científico e Tecnológico (brasilianische Partner) kofinanziert.