PICASO

PICASO – A Personalised Integrated Care Approach for Service Organisations and Care Models for Patients with Multi-Morbidity and Chronic Conditions

© Photo ESB Professional/Shutterstock.com

PICASO is a research project funded by the European Commission’s Horizon 2020 research and innovation program, addressing main challenges in Europe’s healthcare systems, managing multi-morbidities, coordinating care and treatment across organizational units and adapting ehealth solutions to existing care models and plans.

The project aims to develop an ICT platform for integrated care that supports collaboration between all stakeholders involved in the care and treatment of people diagnosed with multiple chronic diseases, cardio vascular disease and either Rheumatoid Arthritis or Parkinson’s disease. The main stakeholders are physicians like GPs, cardiologists, rheumatologists or radiologists, medical personnel like physiotherapists as well as patients, relatives and (informal) caregivers. PICASO also aims to promote empowerment of patients in regard to self-health management in everyday life.

Objectives

The main objectives of the project are:

  • to support the coordination of care and treatment plans across different sectors PICASO will ease the creation of care plans within the integrated care platform and improve clinical decision support for physicians. Every care plan will be exported to an appropriate machine-readable format that is prerequisite for decision support. The clinical decision support will be based on analysis of conflicts, constraints and limitations from single-morbidity care plans as well as risk prediction models for the interpretation of patient’s immediate and future health status based on patients’ risk scores.
  • to ensure comprehensive data protection and handling data in a privacy compliant manner for all stakeholders PICASO will comply with the European “General Data Protection Regulation” (GDPR) from 2016 and national regularizations of Germany and Italy, where pilot sites will take place.
  • the foreseen management and security model will provide a unique information sharing system with a distributed shared memory object space, where the physically separated data storages can be addressed as one logically shared address space, while data can be stored in one place, i.e. the requestor’s (data owner) legacy repository. Role based access to patient`s data is bound on informed patient consent.
  • to promote patient empowerment and self-care PICASO will offer with easy to understand information on symptoms, treatment and medication, reminder services e.g. for drug intake as well as an integrated view on relevant personal health parameter. An app will provide a graphical view showing values for e.g. blood pressure or heard rate variability from the integrated home monitoring and self-ratings of well-being or pain rates together with the taken medications and can be displayed as daily, weekly or monthly overview. Increased knowledge and visibility of one’s own data and health status are central steps towards empowering the patient and making her or him more involved in treatment decisions.

Fraunhofer FIT is coordinator of the project and leads the user requirements engineering process. Beyond this FIT will develop a service that supports clinicians in creating an individual care plan that can be aligned with already existing care plans for a patient and will draws attention to possible conflicts.

Pilot sites

The PICASO platform will be evaluated at two pilot sites, in Germany at the Policlinic of Rheumatology at the University Hospital of Düsseldorf and in Italy at the University Hospital of Tor Vergata in Rome. The trails in Düsseldorf focus on patients diagnosed with Rheumatoid Arthritis and in Italy, on patients with Parkinson’s disease. On both trial sites patients involved in the trials are also suffering from a Cardio Vascular Disease as co-morbidity.

The overall purpose of the trials is a proof of concept to demonstrate that PICASO services enable collaborative sharing of patient information, particularly care plans for a more holistic view of patients with comorbidities and potential problems within the complete treatment plan. The trials will also validate impact of the PICASO integrated care platform on the effectiveness of the care systems and acceptance of home monitoring services by patients and relatives.

Consortium

  • Fraunhofer Institute for Applied Information Technology (DE)  
  • BM Hursley – Application Management Services (UK)
  • CNet Svenska AB (SE)
  • In-JeT ApS (DK)
  • Research Institute Fondazione Inuit Tor Vergata (IT)
  • Technical Universtiy of Kosice (SK)
  • Vrije Universiteit Brussel (BE)
  • University of Rome “Tor Vergata” Hospital (IT)
  • Heinrich-Heine-University Düsseldorf, Universitätsklinik Düsseldorf (DE)

PICASO

PICASO – A Personalised Integrated Care Approach for Service Organisations and Care Models for Patients with Multi-Morbidity and Chronic Conditions

© Foto ESB Professional/Shutterstock.com

PICASO ist ein von der Europäischen Kommission im Forschungs- und Innovationsprogramm Horizont 2020 gefördertes Projekt, das die großen Herausforderungen in den europäischen Gesundheitssystemen adressiert, nämlich das Management von Mehrfacherkrankungen, die Koordination in der medizinischen Behandlung auch zwischen verschiedenen Organisationseinheiten und die Anpassung neuer E-Health-Lösungen an vorhandene Behandlungsmodelle und -pläne.

Ziel ist die Entwicklung einer ICT-Plattform zur integrierten Versorgung von Patienten mit chronischen Mehrfacherkrankungen, etwa rheumatische Arthritis oder Parkinson in Kombination mit einer Herz-Kreislauferkrankung. Dazu ist es notwendig, die Zusammenarbeit zwischen allen an der Behandlung Beteiligten zu verbessern. Darin involviert sind Hausärzte, Spezialisten wie Kardiologen, Rheumatologen, Radiologen, medizinisches Fachpersonal wie Physiotherapeuten sowie Patienten und betreuende  Angehörige.

Ein weiteres wichtiges Ziel besteht darin, Patienten-Empowerment im Hinblick auf ein eigenverantwortliches Gesundheitsmanagement im Lebensalltag zu stärken.

Ziele

Hauptziele des Projekts:

  • Die Erstellung von Behandlungsplänen im integrierten Versorgungsprozess wird unter anderem durch eine verbesserte klinische Entscheidungsunterstützung für Ärzte unterstützt. Die verschiedenen Behandlungspläne einer Patientin oder eines Patienten werden in ein geeignetes maschinenlesbares Format exportiert, das die Voraussetzung für eine systematische Analyse darstellt. Dabei werden Bedingungen, Einschränkungen und mögliche Konflikte aus den Einzelbehandlungsplänen berücksichtigt sowie Modelle zur Bewertung der individuellen Risikofaktoren einbezogen, die den derzeitigen und auch künftig zu erwartenden Gesundheitszustand von Patienten betreffen.
  • Rechtskonformer Datenschutz und adäquater Schutz der Privatsphäre aller beteiligten Akteure werden durch Berücksichtigung der 2016 von der EU verabschiedeten »General Data Protection Regulation« (GDPR) sowie der nationalen Gesetzgebungen Italiens und Deutschlands erreicht, wo die Pilottests stattfinden.
  • Das PICASO Modell für Datenmanagement und -sicherheit sieht unter anderem ein eigenes System zum Informationsaustausch vor, das Zugriff auf Metadaten in einem gemeinsam nutzbaren »shared memory object space« gewährt. Dort können Informationen eingesehen werden, ohne dass ein Transfer der physikalischen Datensätze erfolgt. Sie verbleiben an ihren geschützten ursprünglichen Speicherorten, etwa einem Krankenhaus als Besitzer bestimmter Daten. Der rollenbasierte Zugriff auf Patientendaten ist stets an die »informierte Zustimmung« der behandelten Person gebunden.
  • Patienten-Empowerment, das heißt Stärkung von Eigenverantwortlichkeit und informierter Mitwirkung von Patienten am Behandlungsprozess fördert das PICASO etwa durch Angebot leicht verständlicher Informationen zum Krankheitsbild, Erinnerungsdienste, etwa zur Medikamenteneinnahme, sowie eine integrierte Sicht auf persönlich relevante Gesundheitsparameter. Die integrierte grafische Darstellung umfasst beispielsweise Werte zu Blutdruck oder Herzratenvariabilität aus dem integrierten Home-Monitoring sowie zur Selbsteinschätzung des Schmerzlevels oder des allgemeinen Wohlbefindens zusammen mit der aktuellen Medikation und erfolgt optional im Tages-, Wochen- oder Monatsverlauf. Erweitertes Wissen und das Sichtbarmachen der eigenen Gesundheitswerte stellen wesentliche Schritte zu mehr Selbstbestimmung von Patienten und deren Einbeziehung in Behandlungsentscheidungen dar.

Fraunhofer FIT ist Projektkoordinator und leitet den User Requirements Engineering Prozess. Darüber hinaus wird FIT einen Service entwickeln, der Ärzte dabei unterstützt, klinischen Leitlinien folgend individuelle Behandlungspläne zu erstellen, die mit bereits vorhandenen Einzelbehandlungsplänen abgestimmt sind und eventuelle Konflikte anzeigen.  

Pilotstandorte

Die PICASO Plattform wird an zwei Pilotstandorten evaluiert werden, in Deutschland an der Poliklinik für Rheumatologie des Universitätsklinikums Düsseldorf und in Italien an der Universitätsklinik Tor Vergata in Rom. Die Pilotstudie in Düsseldorf konzentriert sich auf an rheumatischer Arthritis erkrankte Menschen, die in Italien fokussiert auf Parkinsonpatienten. Patientengruppen aus beiden Pilotstandorten sind von einer Herz-Kreislauferkrankung als Ko-Morbidität betroffen.

Insgesamt sollen die Pilotstudien als »Proof of Concept« dienen, dass die in PICASO entwickelten Dienste die gemeinsame Nutzung von Patienteninformationen, insbesondere von Behandlungsplänen, ermöglichen und einen ganzheitlicheren Bick auf Patienten mit Mehrfacherkrankungen erlauben, der mögliche Konflikte im Gesamtbehandlungsplan sichtbar macht. Darüber hinaus soll evaluiert werden, welchen Einfluss die PICASO Plattform zur integrierten Versorgung auf die Effektivität des Gesundheitsmanagements hat und welche  Akzeptanz die angebotenen Home-Monitoring-Dienste durch Patienten und ihre Angehörigen erfahren.

Konsortium

  • Fraunhofer-Institut für Angewandte Informationstechnik FIT (Deutschland)
  • CNet Svenska AB (Schweden)
  • In-JeT ApS (Dänemark)
  • Research Institute Fondazione Inuit Tor Vergata (Italien)
  • Technical Universtiy of Kosice (Slowakei)
  • Vrije Universiteit Brussel (Belgien)
  • University of Rome »Tor Vergata« Hospital (Italien)
  • Heinrich-Heine-University Düsseldorf, Universitätsklinik Düsseldorf (Deutschland)