SEEMPubS

Energy efficiency in public and historic buildings

© Photo http://www.alchimea.it

With modern societies’ rising demand for energy, it is increasingly important to use available energy resources as efficiently as possible. Investments in infrastructure such as intelligent grid- and building-management are a prerequisite for the development of energy aware societies.

While solutions to automatic building management exist, they often face the common shortcomings of being non-generic and vendor-dependent. Furthermore, such systems often do not exploit a building’s full energy saving potential or are considered disturbing by end users. In historic and listed buildings it is not even possible to conduct serious changes to existing infrastructures to install sophisticated building management systems.

SEEMPubS – Smart Energy Efficient Middleware for Public Spaces – aims at solving these problems. The project develops a middleware that enables cost-effective integration of heterogeneous technologies into a common intelligent building energy management system. 
The SEEMPubS platform will be applied in public and historic buildings reusing already existing infrastructure where possible and introducing new technologies where necessary.

Fraunhofer FIT is responsible for integrating different technologies (building management systems, sensor/actuator networks, smart meters) into the SEEMPubS platform. Thereto, SEEMPubS employs the LinkSmart middleware to facilitate secure services and applications across heterogeneous devices and subsystems. LinkSmart has been developed under the coordination of Fraunhofer FIT within the European project HYDRA. Within SEEMPubS it will be further developed and extended with energy monitoring and control functionality.

Moreover, Fraunhofer FIT explores innovative interaction techniques to enable transparent communication between end users and intelligent buildings. A public community portal will be developed to allow end users to access the SEEMPubS system and to exchange information with other users.

Fraunhofer FIT also investigates indirect forms of communication, such as Ambient Visualization technologies, to provide to the users contextual information, without demanding their full attention.

The SEEMPubS platform will be evaluated at several facilities of the Technical University of Turin (Politecnico di Torino). Besides various modern buildings, this also includes Castello del Valentino, a 16th century palace and today seat of the faculty of architecture.

Official project website

The SEEMPubS project is co-funded by the European Commission within the 7th Framework Program.

SEEMPubS

Energieeffizienz in öffentlichen und historischen Gebäuden

© Foto http://www.alchimea.it

Während in neuen Bauvorhaben bereits in der Planungsphase ein intelligentes Netz- und Gebäudemanagement zur optimalen Energiebilanz eines Gebäudes berücksichtigt werden kann, gestaltet sich die Optimierung älterer oder sogar historischer Gebäude unter Denkmalschutz weitaus komplizierter. Gravierende Änderungen in der baulichen und technischen Infrastruktur sind hier kaum zu realisieren. In öffentlichen Gebäuden kommt hinzu, dass oftmals Automatisierungssysteme existieren, die jedoch nicht das volle Energieeinsparpotential ausschöpfen.

Um diese Probleme zu lösen, wird im Projekt »SEEMPubS – Smart Energy Efficient Middleware for Public Spaces« eine Middleware entwickelt, die eine kosteneffiziente Integration verschiedenster Technologien zu einem intelligenten Gebäude- und Energiemanagementsystem ermöglicht. Ziel ist eine signifikante Steigerung der Energieeffizienz bei gleichzeitiger Gewährleistung des Nutzerkomforts. Die Einsatzszenarien des Projekts sind öffentliche und historische Gebäude.

Fraunhofer FIT ist verantwortlich für die Integration verschiedener Technologien in die SEEMPubS Plattform, etwa Gebäudemanagement, Sensor-/Aktuator-Netzwerke oder intelligente Stromzähler. Hierzu werden vorhandene Subsysteme und neue Installationen mit Hilfe der LinkSmart Middleware über einheitliche Service-Schnittstellen sicher und effizient zugreifbar gemacht.

Die LinkSmart Middleware wurde unter Leitung von Fraunhofer FIT im Rahmen des EU-Projekts »Hydra – Networked Embedded System Middleware for Heterogeneous Physical Devices« entwickelt. In SEEMPubS wird sie um Komponenten zur intelligenten Überwachung und Steuerung von Energieeffizienz erweitert.

Zudem erforscht Fraunhofer FIT innovative Interaktionstechniken, die eine transparente Kommunikation zwischen Endnutzern und intelligenten Gebäuden ermöglicht. Dazu wird ein öffentliches Community-Portal realisiert, das zahlreiche Informationen bereitstellt und den Austausch der SEEMPubS-Nutzer untereinander erlaubt. Untersucht werden auch indirekte Kommunikationsformen, etwa Ambient Display Technologien, mit denen kontextabhängige Informationen vermittelt werden können, ohne die volle Aufmerksamkeit des Benutzers in Anspruch zu nehmen.

Zur Evaluierung stehen verschiedene Einrichtungen der Technischen Universität Turin (Politecnico di Torino) zur Verfügung. Hierzu gehört neben diversen neueren Gebäuden auch das Castello del Valentino, ein im 16. Jahrhundert erbauter Palast und heutiger Sitz der Fakultät für Architektur.

SEEMPubS wurde von der Europäischen Kommission im 7. Rahmenprogramm gefördert.