SynErgie

Flexibly adjusting industrial processes to fluctuating power supply

© Photo MarkusBeck/fotolia.de

The SynErgie (Synchronized energy management for energy-adaptive processes) project studies how energy-hungry, yet flexible production processes can make use of the volatile power supply from renewable sources and thus help balance supply and demand in a future power grid.

The project aims to identify key production processes whose electricity demand can be restructured in a way that allows using them to balance fluctuating power supply without affecting their overall profitability. Finally the project will develop efficient operations, procedures and technologies for key industrial processes and test them in pilot plants.

State-of-the-art information technology will be deployed to network the different players, such as electricity producers, large-scale energy consumers, electricity markets and grid operators. The aim is to use these integrated information systems to achieve an automatic, economically favorable adaptation of power consumption. The guiding idea is that of an integrated control of power demand linking photovoltaic plants or wind generators, markets and production processes.
 

Economic value of demand flexibility

A subset of the SynErgie consortium, headed by Fraunhofer FIT's project group Business & Information Systems Engineering in Augsburg and Bayreuth, focuses on market and power grid systems. One main issue here is to determine economic valuations of the flexibilities of industrial power consumption and to develop mechanisms for the financial compensation of these flexibilities.

Fraunhofer FIT's User-Centered Computing group, a member of the ICT subgroup of the SynErgie consortium, is working on requirements analysis and the development of interfaces and consults on security issues with regard to data exchange between the players in the electricity market.

BMBF funding

SynErgie is one of four Kopernikus projects for the national energy turnaround. It is funded by the Federal Ministry of Education and Research (BMBF) and is expected to play a major role in guaranteeing a reliable, affordable und sustainable power supply in Germany. The initial phase of the SynErgie project will be funded for three years with an annual budget of 10 million €. The BMBF plans to fund each of the four Kopernikus projects for up to 10 years with a total budget of 100 million €.

Project coordinators and partners

Coordinators of the SynErgie project are Prof. Eberhard Abele, Technische Universität Darmstadt, and Prof. Alexander Sauer, University of Stuttgart. Besides Fraunhofer FIT and two more Fraunhofer institutes, 19 research institutes as well as 40 companies from the major electricity-hungry industries in Germany are actively involved in the project.

For additional information in German visit: www.kopernikus-projekte.de/projekte/industrieprozesse

SynErgie

Flexible Ausrichtung von Industrieprozessen auf eine fluktuierende Energieversorgung

© Foto MarkusBeck/fotolia.de

Das Forschungsprojekt Synchronisiertes Energiemanagement für die Ausrichtung energieadaptiver Prozesse (SynErgie) widmet sich der Frage, wie flexible energieintensive Industrieprozesse als Nachfrager das volatile Angebot erneuerbarer Energien im zukünftigen Energiesystem nutzen und damit das Stromnetz ausgleichen können.

Das Projekt zielt darauf, industrielle Schlüsselprozesse zu identifizieren, deren Energiebedarf so angepasst werden kann, dass diese unter Berücksichtigung wirtschaftlicher Gesichtspunkte zum Ausgleich der fluktuierenden Energieversorgung genutzt werden können. Schließlich sollen für industrielle Schlüssel­prozesse effiziente Verfahren und Technologien entwickelt und anhand von Demonstrationsanlagen erprobt werden.

Mit Hilfe aktueller Ansätze aus der Informations- und Kommunikationstechnik werden einzelne Akteure vernetzt, etwa Stromerzeuger, Großverbraucher, Strommärkte, und Stromnetzbetreiber. Das Ziel ist, mithilfe von integrierten Informationssystemen, eine automatisierte und ökonomisch vorteilhafte Anpassung des Stromverbrauchs zu ermöglichen. Die Vision ist somit eine durchgängige Regelung der Energienachfrage »von der Photovoltaikanlage oder dem Windrad über die Märkte bis hin zum Produktionsprozess«.

 

Ökonomische Bewertung der Nachfrageflexibilität

Die Projektgruppe Wirtschaftsinformatik des Fraunhofer FIT in Augsburg und Bayreuth hat die Leitung des Unterkonsortiums Markt- und Stromsystem inne. Dabei gilt es insbesondere auch, die Bereitstellung industrieller Nachfrageflexibilität ökonomisch zu bewerten und Mechanismen zu entwickeln, wie Industrieunternehmen eine entsprechende Vergütung erhalten.

Der Forschungsbereich User-Centered Computing des Fraunhofer FIT unterstützt im Unterkonsortium IKT die Anforderungsanalyse sowie Schnittstellenentwicklung und Beratung zu sicherheitsrelevanten Themen des Datenaustauschs zwischen den verschiedenen Akteuren des Strommarktes.

Förderung durch das BMBF

SynErgie ist eines der insgesamt vier durch das Bundesministerium für Bildung und Forschung (BMBF) geförderten »Kopernikus-Projekte für die Energiewende« und trägt damit maßgeblich zum Gelingen einer zuverlässigen, wirtschaftlichen und nachhaltigen Energieversorgung bei. Das Forschungsprojekt wird zunächst über eine Laufzeit von drei Jahren mit einem jährlichen Fördervolumen von 10 Millionen Euro gefördert. Für jedes der vier Kopernikus-Projekte wurde ein Förderzeitraum von bis zu zehn Jahren mit einem Fördervolumen von jeweils 100 Millionen Euro in Aussicht gestellt.

Koordinator und Partner

SynErgie wird von den Professoren Eberhard Abele der Technischen Universität Darmstadt und Alexander Sauer von der Universität Stuttgart koordiniert. Neben Fraunhofer FIT und zwei weiteren Fraunhofer-Instituten wirken 19 weitere Forschungseinrichtungen sowie 40 Industrieunternehmen aus allen energieintensiven Branchen aktiv mit.

Weitere Informationen finden Sie unter: www.kopernikus-projekte.de/projekte/industrieprozesse