University Linkages

Under shared leadership by Prof. Matthias Jarke and (from September 2015) Prof. Stefan Decker, FIT cooperates closely with the Information Systems group (Informatik 5) at RWTH Aachen University. Three FIT scientists hold professorships for Cooperation Systems (Wolfgang Prinz), Life Science Informatics (Thomas Berlage) and Media Informatics / Media Processes (Thomas Rose), respectively, in Informatik 5. Informatik 5 focuses on formal analysis, prototypical development, and practical testing of meta-information systems. Project clusters focus on Internet Information Systems, Electronic Commerce, Database and Meta-Database Technology, Robotics, Information Systems in Chemical Engineering, Process-Integrated Information Systems, and Information Systems on Cultural Sciences.

Prof. Jarke is active in leading positions within the interdisciplinary Competence Centre for Sign Language and Gesture (SignGes) of excellence university RWTH Aachen University.

A significant element in the institute‘s linkage to universities is the involvement in the Bonn-Aachen International Center for Information Technology (B-IT) that was founded in 2003 as a joint venture of RWTH Aachen University, Bonn University, several Fraunhofer institutes in Birlinghoven, and the Bonn-Rhine-Sieg University of Applied Sciences. Fraunhofer FIT cooperates with B-IT in research-integrated English-language master programs in Media Informatics and Life Science Informatics, aimed at the top tier of international students. Prof. Jarke also coordinates the B-IT Research School for international doctoral training in applied IT.

Fraunhofer FIT headquarters are located in Sankt Augustin and Aachen. Remote offices and project groups are attached to Augsburg University and Bayreuth University (Prof. Dr. Hans-Ulrich Buhl), Siegen University (Prof. Dr. Volker Wulf), University of Münster (Prof. Dr. Thomas Hoeren, Legal Data Processing) and Hamm-Lippstadt University of Applied Sciences (Prof. Dr. Harald Mathis). Permanent links through former Fraunhofer FIT researchers or honorary professorships also exist to the universities of Bamberg, Duisburg-Essen, Koblenz, Ilmenau, Heerlen (The Netherlands), and many Universities of Applied Sciences in our region.lmenau, Bamberg and Heerlen (The Netherlands).

Hochschulkooperation

FIT ist durch die gemeinsame Leitung mit dem Lehrstuhl für Informatik 5 (Informationssysteme) der RWTH Aachen eng verbunden. Neben den Lehrstuhlinhabern Prof. Matthias Jarke und (seit September 2015) Prof. Dr. Stefan Decker haben auch drei Wissenschaftler aus FIT am Lehrstuhl Professuren für Kooperationssysteme (Wolfgang Prinz), Informatik in den Lebenswissenschaften (Thomas Berlage) und Medieninformatik / Medienprozesse (Thomas Rose) inne. Der Lehrstuhl befasst sich mit der formalen Analyse, prototypischen Entwicklung und praktischen Erprobung von Meta-Informationssystemen. Themengebiete sind internetbasierte Informationssysteme, Electronic Commerce, Metadatenbank-Technologie, Robotik, Informationssysteme in der Verfahrenstechnik, sowie Kulturinformatik.

Im Rahmen der Exzellenzinitiative ist Prof. Jarke in Leitungsfunktionen am interdisziplinären Zentrum SignGes der Eliteuniversität RWTH Aachen engagiert.

Eine zentrale Komponente der Hochschulanbindung ist die Beteiligung am Bonn-Aachen International Center for Information Technology (B-IT). Das B-IT wurde 2003 als Joint Venture der RWTH Aachen, der in Schloss Birlinghoven ansässigen Fraunhofer-Institute, der Universität Bonn und der Hochschule Bonn Rhein-Sieg gegründet. Fraunhofer FIT unterstützt das B-IT bei der Durchführung seiner auf internationalen Spitzennachwuchs abzielenden englischsprachigen Master-Studiengänge in den Bereichen Life Science Informatics und Media Informatics.

Das Fraunhofer FIT hat seinen Hauptstandort in Sankt Augustin und Aachen. Eingebunden sind ferner Außenstellen und Projektgruppen an der Universität Augsburg und Bayreuth (Prof. Dr. Hans-Ulrich Buhl), der Universität Siegen (Prof. Dr. Volker Wulf, stv. Sprecher des SFB »Medien der Kooperation«), der Universität Münster (Prof. Dr. Thomas Hoeren, Rechtsinformatik) und der Hochschule Hamm-Lippstadt (Prof. Dr. Harald Mathis). Durch wegberufene Mitarbeiter bzw. Honorarprofessuren hat FIT zudem Verbindungen zu den Universitäten Bamberg, Duisburg-Essen, Koblenz, Ilmenau, Heerlen (Niederlande) und zahlreichen Fachhochschulen der Region.