GeniusTex

How can the production of smart textiles be accelerated?

© Syda Productions/fotolia

Fraunhofer FIT is working on this question in the joint research project GeniusTex – Innovative B2B Platform for smart textiles together with RWTH Aachen University and companies in the field of semiconductor solutions, healthcare and automation systems.

Currently, smart textiles produce interest in the areas of medicine, sports, fashion, building services engineering and automobile industry. In the value-added process, product designers, suppliers, as well as service providers are involved. To benefit from and to enhance the market potential of smart textiles, GeniusTex realizes an innovative and open platform that supports cooperation and the exchange of knowledge between the different stakeholders in an efficient and gainful way. Early customer involvement in the process of product engineering helps to enhance the innovation management in companies. Trans-sectoral information will be made available and usable through its semantical representation and classification.

Furthermore, GeniusTex develops a product-oriented design methodology of production processes for the integration of smart textiles and the use of GeniusTex as a cyberphysic system. New and appropriate business models attract actors because the participation is economically reasonable and attractive.

Fraunhofer FIT is responsible for the implementation of the GeniusTex platform, an extension of Fraunhofer FIT’s groupware system BSCW which is in the market since more than 20 years. BSCW will be extended and newly designed to the GeniusTex requirements.

The project is partially funded by the German Federal Ministry of Economics and Technology (BMWi).

GeniusTex

Wie kann die smarte Produktion smarter Textilen beschleunigt werden?

© Syda Productions/fotolia

Diese Fragestellung bearbeitet Fraunhofer FIT im Verbundvorhaben »GeniusTex – Innovative B2B Platform for Smart Textiles« in Zusammenarbeit mit der RWTH Aachen und Unternehmen aus den Bereichen Halbleiterlösungen, Healthcare und Automatisierungssysteme.

Aktuell erfahren Smart Textiles großes Interesse in den Bereichen Medizin, Sport, Mode, Gebäudetechnik und Automobilindustrie. Am Wertschöpfungsprozess sind Produktentwickler, Zulieferer und Service-Anbieter beteiligt. Um das Marktpotential von Smart Textiles zu nutzen und auszubauen, realisiert GeniusTex eine innovative und offene Branchenplattform, die die Kooperation und den Wissensaustausch zwischen den verschiedenen Akteuren effizient und gewinnbringend unterstützt. Die Möglichkeit der frühzeitigen Kundeneinbindung im Produkt-Engineering verbessert das Innovationsmanagement im Unternehmen. Bereichsübergreifende Informationen werden verfügbar und durch semantische Repräsentation und Klassifikation nutzbar gemacht. 

Des Weiteren entwickelt GeniusTex eine produktorientierte Gestaltungsmethodik von Fertigungsprozessen zur Systemintegration für Smart Textiles für den Einsatz der Plattform als cyber-physisches System sowie geeignete Geschäftsmodelle, damit eine Teilnahme für alle Akteure ökonomisch sinnvoll und attraktiv ist.

Fraunhofer FIT ist im Verbundprojekt verantwortlich für die Implementierung der GeniusTex Branchenplattform, eine Weiterentwicklung des Fraunhofer FIT Groupware Systems BSCW, welches seit mehr als 20 Jahren erfolgreich im Markt ist. BSCW wird für GeniusTex um neue Funktionen erweitert und neu gestaltet.

Das Projekt wird gefördert durch das Bundesministerium für Wirtschaft und Energie (BMWi).