MEDIT

Methods for energy grid actors for prevention, detection and reaction against failures and attacks on the informational technology

© Fraunhofer FIT
MEDIT Kick-Off-Meeting, 14-15 November 2018, Test Center for Grid Integration and Storage Technologies in Aachen, Germany.

The electricity supply sector is facing major challenges due to the "Energiewende" and the associated digitalisation. Therefore, specially adapted IT security technologies are required. Fraunhofer FIT, Fraunhofer FKIE, Schleswig-Holstein Netz AG, devolo AG, P3 Energy & Storage GmbH, KISTERS AG, RWTH Aachen University and Hochschule Bremen are therefore developing methods for energy grid actors in the BMWi project "MEDIT" for the detection, prevention and reaction to IT attacks and IT failures.

The change in power generation is leading to increased use of information and communication technology (ICT) at the distribution grid level as well. This poses new challenges for grid operation, especially in the area of IT security, as failures or interventions at the ICT level can have a direct, serious impact on secure grid operation. The increased integration of decentralised generation units and new consumers into the electricity grid is causing an increasing number of interactions between the participating energy grid players and grid operation. Virtual power plant operators aggregate and control generation plants, storage facilities and loads in the sense of a common electricity market and at the same time provide the system services required for grid operation. In addition, the increased use of intelligent energy meters means that end customers in both the private and commercial sectors are playing an increasingly active role in the energy market.

Development of IT security technologies for the energy sector

The aim of the BMWi research project "MEDIT" is therefore to develop technologies, concepts and methods for prevention, detection and reaction to IT attacks and IT failures specifically for energy grid actors. To investigate the interactions between ICT and energy systems and to develop special detection methods for IT attacks, an ICT energy co-simulation environment is to be set up. In the course of the project, the Center for Grid Integration at RWTH Aachen University will be expanded in the field of ICT in order to provide a realistic environment for the development of new IT security technologies. On this basis, novel methods and technologies for ICT monitoring, systems for application-related IT attack detection and reactive measures for specific security incidents can be developed, validated and realistically tested with regard to their use by various energy network actors. In addition, the effects of IT attacks and failures on the security of supply and the stability of the power grid can be evaluated within the created environment.

Aims of Fraunhofer FIT

The department "Digital Energy" of the Fraunhofer Institute for Applied Information Technology FIT works in "MEDIT" mainly on the development of a co-simulation environment as well as on the identification, development and validation of methods for the detection of IT attacks in future power grids.

To this end, suitable models are being developed for the realistic representation of future information flows among energy network actors in order to be able to realistically map the consequences of IT attacks on the energy supply. Thus an Intrusion Detection System (IDS) can be developed, which enables detailed conclusions about coordinated attacks by correlation and evaluation of the process data of the energy system.

Partners

  • Fraunhofer FKIE
  • Schleswig-Holstein Netz AG
  • devolo AG
  • P3 Energy & Storage GmbH
  • KISTERS AG
  • RWTH Aachen
  • Hochschule Bremen

MEDIT is funded by the Federal Ministry of Economics and Energy (BMWi).

MEDIT

Methoden für Energienetzakteure zur Detektion, Prävention und Reaktion bei IT-Angriffen und IT-Ausfällen

© Fraunhofer FIT

MEDIT Kick-Off-Meeting, 14. – 15. November 2018, Testzentrum für Netzintegration und Speichertechnologien in Aachen

Die Elektrizitätsversorgung steht durch die Energiewende und der damit einhergehenden Digitalisierung vor großen Herausforderungen. Benötigt werden unter anderem speziell angepasste IT-Sicherheitstechnologien. Fraunhofer FIT, Fraunhofer FKIE, die Schleswig-Holstein Netz AG, die devolo AG, die P3 Energy & Storage GmbH, die KISTERS AG, die RWTH Aachen und die Hochschule Bremen entwickeln daher im BMWi-Projekt »MEDIT« Methoden für Energienetzakteure zur Detektion, Prävention und Reaktion bei IT-Angriffen und IT-Ausfällen.

Der Wandel in der Stromerzeugung bringt den vermehrten Einsatz von Informations- und Kommunikationstechnik (IKT) auch auf Verteilungsnetzebene mit sich. Dies stellt den Netzbetrieb vor allem im Bereich der IT-Sicherheit vor neue Herausforderungen, da Ausfälle oder Eingriffe auf IKT-Ebene direkte, schwerwiegende Auswirkungen auf den sicheren Netzbetrieb haben können. Durch die vermehrte Integration dezentraler Erzeugungseinheiten und neuer Verbraucher in das Stromnetz kommt es verstärkt zu Wechselwirkungen zwischen den beteiligten Energienetzakteuren und dem Netzbetrieb. Virtuelle Kraftwerksbetreiber aggregieren und steuern Erzeugungsanlagen, Speicher und Lasten im Sinne einer gemeinsamen Stromvermarktung und stellen gleichzeitig für den Netzbetrieb benötigte Systemdienstleistungen bereit. Zudem kommt durch den vermehrten Einsatz intelligenter Stromzähler den Endkunden sowohl im privaten als auch im gewerblichen Bereich eine zunehmend aktivere Rolle im Energiemarkt zu.

Entwicklung von IT-Sicherheitstechnologien für die Energiebranche

Ziel des BMWi-Forschungsprojekts »MEDIT« ist es daher, Technologien, Konzepte und Methoden zur Prävention, Detektion und Reaktion auf IT-Angriffe und IT-Ausfälle speziell für Energienetzakteure zu entwickeln. Zur Untersuchung der Wechselwirkungen zwischen IKT- und Energiesystemen als auch zur Entwicklung neuartiger Detektionsverfahren für IT-Angriffe soll eine IKT-Energie-Co-Simulationsumgebung aufgebaut werden. Im Zuge des Projekts wird darüber hinaus das Zentrum für Netzintegration der RWTH Aachen im Bereich der IKT erweitert, um eine möglichst realitätsnahe Umgebung zur Entwicklung neuer IT-Sicherheitstechnologien bereitstellen zu können. Auf dieser Basis können neuartige Methoden und Technologien für ein IKT-Monitoring, Systeme zur anwendungsbezogenen Angriffserkennung und reaktive Maßnahmen für spezifische Sicherheitsvorfälle entwickelt, validiert und hinsichtlich des Einsatzes bei verschiedenen Energienetzakteuren realitätsnah getestet werden. Zudem können innerhalb der geschaffenen Umgebung Auswirkungen von IT-Angriffen und -Ausfällen auf die Versorgungssicherheit und die Stabilität des Stromnetzes evaluiert werden.

Aufgaben des Fraunhofer FIT

Die Abteilung »Digitale Energie« des Fraunhofer-Instituts für Angewandte Informationstechnik FIT arbeitet in »MEDIT« schwerpunktmäßig am Aufbau der Co-Simulationsumgebung sowie der Identifikation, Entwicklung und Validierung von Methoden zur Detektion von IT-Angriffen in zukünftigen Stromnetzen.

Als Grundlage hierfür werden geeignete Modelle zur realitätsnahen Darstellung der zukünftigen Informationsflüsse bei Energienetzakteuren entwickelt, um die Folgen von IT-Angriffen auf die Energieversorgung realitätsnah abbilden zu können. Dies bildet die Basis für die Entwicklung eines Intrusion Detection Systems (IDS), das durch Korrelation und Auswertung der Prozessdaten des Energiesystems detaillierte Rückschlüsse auf koordinierte Angriffe ermöglicht.

Partner

  • Fraunhofer FKIE
  • Schleswig-Holstein Netz AG
  • devolo AG
  • P3 Energy & Storage GmbH
  • KISTERS AG
  • RWTH Aachen
  • Hochschule Bremen

MEDIT wird vom Bundesministerium für Wirtschaft und Energie (BMWi) gefördert.