Utilize Opportunities

There is still much to be done for digital transformation of the agriculture and food industry. We deliver innovative solutions to support the sustainable use of natural resources. Our research efforts focus on modern ICT technologies, which are essential building blocks for achieving networked, socially responsible and optimized tracking of the entire value chain.

Smart Food Ecosystems

Intelligent solutions for the agricultural and food industry

The agricultural and food industry is becoming more digital: machines, equipment and systems have the ability to communicate with each other over networks. Technologies such as block chain, enable food products to be tracked seamlessly from the producer to the consumer. Artificial intelligence helps to improve animal welfare in intensive production systems. With these state-of-the-art information and communication technologies, we are actively shaping the transformation process in the agricultural and food industry. Our research and development goals are targeted towards delivering innovative solutions that are transparent and comprehensible for the end customer. But we need your help! We are looking for partners to collaborate with us on joint research projects. Together we will bring new technologies into the industry in a usable and meaningful way.

What can Fraunhofer FIT offer you in the field of Smart Food Ecosystems?

In the research and application field "Smart Food Ecosystems," we address challenges in the digital context. We work to provide innovative solutions that help optimize processes across the entire agricultural and food value chain, both economically and ecologically.

With our research, we take a holistic approach to all aspects of the value chain of food suppliers. Adhering to the idea "from the farm to the consumer", Fraunhofer FIT applies its competencies to bring the following benefits:

  • promote animal welfare with digital solutions
  • improve transparency in the food supply chain
  • support conscious consumption via digital tools

To achieve these goals, we leverage expertise from our various departments and work together on both small and large projects in the research area of agricultural and food. We utilize our scientific and technological know-how to analyze the three fields of activity from all angles. Together with partners in the processing industry, agriculture, logistics and trade, we develop suitable solutions to meet the requirements of smart, sustainable and safe food production.

Chancen nutzen

Bei der Digitalisierung der Landwirtschaft und Lebensmittelindustrie ist noch viel zu tun. Wir liefern innovative Lösungen, um den nachhaltigen Umgang mit natürlichen Ressourcen zu unterstützen. Entwickelt und geforscht wird mit modernen IKT-Technologien, die wesentliche Bausteine für eine vernetzte, sozial verträgliche und optimierte Rückverfolgung der gesamten Wertschöpfungskette sind.

Smart Food Ecosystems

Intelligente Lösungen für die Agrar- und Lebensmittelindustrie

Die Agrar- und Lebensmittelindustrie wird digital: Maschinen, Geräte und Systeme sind vernetzt und kommunizieren miteinander. Über eine Blockchain lassen sich Lebensmittel lückenlos vom Erzeuger bis zum Verbraucher rückverfolgen. Künstliche Intelligenz hilft bei der Verbesserung des Tierschutzes in intensiven Produktionssystemen. Schon heute gestalten wir den Transformationsprozess in der Agrar- und Lebensmittelindustrie mit modernster Informations- und Kommunikationstechnik aktiv mit. Mit unserer Forschung und Entwicklung wollen wir innovative Lösungen liefern, die für den Endkunden transparent und nachvollziehbar sind. Dafür sind wir auf der Suche nach Partnern, die mit uns gemeinsam Projekte starten möchten, um neue Technologien nutzbar und sinnvoll in die Industrie einzubringen.

Was bietet Ihnen das Fraunhofer FIT im Bereich Smart Food Ecosystems?

Im Forschungs- und Anwendungsfeld »Smart Food Ecosystems« nehmen wir uns den Herausforderungen im digitalen Kontext an. Wir erforschen und entwickeln innovative Lösungen, mit deren Hilfe der gesamte Prozess der Wertschöpfungskette in der Agrar- und Lebensmittelbranche ökonomisch als auch ökologisch optimiert werden kann.

Wir betrachten in diesem Zusammenhang die Wertschöpfungskette der Lebensmittelversorger in ihrer Gesamtheit. Nach dem Gedanken »von der Farm bis zum Verbraucher« setzt Fraunhofer seine Kompetenzen in drei Handlungsfeldern ein, um

  • mit digitalen Lösungen gerechte Tierhaltung zu fördern
  • die Transparenz in der Lebensmittelversorgungskette zu verbessern
  • nachhaltigkeitsorientierten Konsum digital zu unterstützen

Dafür bündeln wir unsere gesamte Expertise der verschiedenen Abteilungen und arbeiten zusammen auf Basis unseres wissenschaftlichen und technologischen Know-hows in und zwischen den drei Handlungsfeldern an kleinen und großen Projekten für die Agrar- und Lebensmittelindustrie. Zusammen mit Partnern aus Landwirtschaft, verarbeitender Industrie, Logistik und Handel, entwickelt wir passende Lösungen, um den Anforderungen einer smarten, nachhaltigen und sicheren Herstellung von Lebensmitteln nachzukommen.