GOEASY

GOEASY – GalileO-based, trustEd Applications for health and SustainabilitY

As a society, we are always looking for ways to help people lead a healthier and more sustainable lifestyle. The project, GOEASY, demonstrates with two apps, ApesMobility and AsthmaWatch, how Location Based Services are improving the accuracy and security of data transmission.

 

 

A New Generation of Location Based Services (LBS)

>> Security – Privacy – Precision <<

GOEASY offers users increased trust through the Galileo GNSS (Global Navigation Satellite System) high standard of accuracy and security in position information and data. These features of the Galileo system are a few of the many advantages to the commonly used American satellite navigation system, GPS (Global Positioning System). Currently, 26 out of the 30 scheduled satellites are circling above the Earth. By the end of 2020, the remaining four will be sent into orbit. The ultimate goal of the project is to gather insight regarding the business and replication potential of location-based applications in two real, medium-scale pilots, namely the ApesMobility pilot in Torino, Italy, and the AsthmaWatch pilot in Stockholm, Sweden.

GOEASY has broadened the possibilities for devices offering location-based services. It promises huge economic, social, and strategic potential, but it is also interesting to observe that, while the Galileo-enabled devices market is currently dominated by Smartphones, it is also seeing the steady growth of new types of location-based devices. Devices such as sport trackers and wearables are becoming increasingly popular in the market and will likely prove to yield more development opportunities in the future. GOEASY will enable a new generation of trusted and dependable mass-market LBS and Applications to engage, stimulate, and reward citizens for more sustainable behaviors and healthier lifestyle choices. The GOEASY project has set this plan into motion through the launch of two location based applications, ApesMobility and AsthmaWatch.

Greener Actions with ApesMobility

The ApesMobility application functions under the social network, GreenApes, to help us move towards a healthier and more eco-friendly society. Through this interactive app, users are encouraged to be more environmentally conscious. Using public transportation, buying organic products, and recycling are just a few of the many ways that users can be rewarded for their contributions to the environment. In return for their posts on the app, users can earn an app-specific currency called, “BankoNuts,” which they can choose to redeem for real-life rewards. GOEASY complements the ApesMobility application with the trusted and reliable features of the Galileo satellite system.

Breathe easy thanks to AsthmaWatch

AsthmaWatch, GOEASY’s second application, is designed to assess air pollution levels, in order to better support users who suffer from asthma. AsthmaWatch works to limit users’ exposure to polluted air by identifying the affected areas on a heat map and offering alternative routes to avoid regions of harmful air pollution. Additionally, bicycles, automobiles, and public transportation vehicles can be equipped with sensors to further plot highly polluted areas and aid patients in avoiding harmful asthma attacks.

Contribution of Fraunhofer FIT

FIT participates in GOEASY with an experienced team of researchers. The applied user-centered design approach helps to analyze the area of Location-Based Services and the involvement of citizens as end users in the final product. From this analysis, challenges and potential for improvement are evaluated using an iterative, agile development approach that continuously involves end-users in the desired application scenarios. In addition, FIT assumes the role of technical director and contributes to the development of Galileo services.

The consortium consisting of Fraunhofer FIT, LINKS Foundation (Italy), CNET (Sweden), BQ (Spain) and GreenApes (Italy) will complete the GOEASY project by 2020 with the piloting of ApesMobility and AsthmaWatch in Torino (Italy) and Stockholm (Sweden).

GOEASY is funded under the EU's Horizon 2020 program.

Contact

Anja Linnemann

Contact Press / Media

Dr. Anja Linnemann

Phone +49 2241 14-1526

GOEASY

GOEASY – Galileo-basierte, vertrauenswürdige Anwendungen für Gesundheit und Nachhaltigkeit

GOEASY - Galileo-basierte, vertrauenswürdige Anwendungen für Gesundheit und Nachhaltigkeit

Die Frage nach einer nachhaltigeren und gesünderen Lebensweise rückt immer mehr in den Fokus der Gesellschaft. Das Projekt GOEASY demonstriert mit zwei Anwendungen, ApesMobility und AsthmaWatch, wie innovative Dienstleistungen dem Menschen auf seinem Weg zu einer gesünderen und ökologischeren Lebensweise – bei gleichzeitiger Erhöhung der Genauigkeit und Sicherheit beim Datenaustausch – unterstützen können.

Eine neue Generation von standortbasierten Dienstleistungen

>> Sicherheit - Datenschutz - Genauigkeit <<

GOEASY verwendet Technologien des Galileo GNSS (Global Navigation Satellite System), um den Nutzern mehr Vertrauen und Sicherheit in Bezug auf Positionsinformationen und Daten zu bieten. Galileo arbeitet sicherer und genauer, als das bereits existierende amerikanische Satellitennavigationssystem GPS. Um diese Vorteile zu gewährleisten, kreisen zurzeit 26 Satelliten über der Erde. Bis Ende 2020 sollen vier weitere Satelliten in die Erdumlaufbahn geschickt werden. Das Ziel des Projekts besteht darin, Einblick in das Geschäfts- und Replikationspotenzial von standortbasierten Anwendungen zu gewinnen. In zwei mittelgroßen Piloten, nämlich im ApesMobility-Pilot in Turin (Italien) und im AsthmaWatch-Pilot in Stockholm (Schweden), wird zurzeit die Zusammenarbeit des Galileo Satellitensystems mit standortbasierten Anwendungen, unter realen Bedingungen getestet.

GOEASY hat die Möglichkeit, standortbasierte Dienstleistungen zu erweitern. Geräte wie Sport Tracker und Smartwatches versprechen neben den allgegenwärtigen Smartphones, ein enormes wirtschaftliches, soziales und strategisches Potenzial. Das Projekt GOEASY entwickelt in diesem Zusammenhang, mobile Anwendungen, die nachhaltiges Verhalten und eine gesunde Lebensweise von Bürgerinnen und Bürgern fördern und belohnt. Es nutzt dabei die Vorteile der exakten und manipulationssicheren Positionsbestimmung des Galileo Systems. GOEASY macht mit der Einführung der beiden standortbasierten Anwendungen ApesMobility und Asthma Watch den ersten Schritt in eine nachhaltigere Zukunft.

Grünes Verhalten belohnen mit ApesMobility

ApesMobility ist in das soziale Netzwerk GreenApes integriert. Durch diese nutzungsfreundliche und interaktive App werden Nutzer ermutigt umweltbewusster zu sein und zu einer nachhaltigeren Gesellschaft beizutragen. Anwender können durch alltägliche Maßnahmen, wie die Nutzung von öffentlichen Verkehrsmitteln, den Kauf von Bio-Produkten oder Recycling, Belohnungen verdienen und einen eigenen Beitrag zum Umweltschutz leisten. Nutzer können nachhaltiges Verhalten im Netzwerk posten und erhalten im Gegenzug sogenannte BankoNuts, welche wiederum für Prämien »im realen Leben« eingelöst werden können. ApesMobility erfasst und verifiziert mithilfe des Galileo Satellitensystems, den Standort des Nutzers zum Zeitpunkt seiner umweltbewussten Tat.

Frei(er) Atmen dank AsthmaWatch

AsthmaWatch- die zweite Anwendung von GOEASY- hat die Aufgabe, Regionen mit schädlicher Luftverschmutzung in einer »Heatmap« darzustellen so dass Asthmatiker diese Regionen meiden können. Sie bekommen stattdessen alternative Routen angezeigt, in denen die Luftverschmutzung weitaus geringer ist. In einem zweiten Nutzungsszenario kommen die Vorteile des Galileo-Systems zum Einsatz. Menschen, Fahrräder, Autos und Fahrzeuge des öffentlichen Verkehrs können mit Luftverschmutzungssensoren und Galileo-Empfängern ausgestattet werden, die die aktuellen Schadstoffwerte an einen Cloudbasierten Luftverschmutzungsdienst melden.

Beitrag des Fraunhofer FIT

FIT beteiligt sich an GOEASY mit einem erfahrenen Forschungsteam. Durch einen nutzer-zentrierten Designansatz, der den Anwender in den Mittelpunkt der Entwicklung stellt, werden realistische Visionen für standortbasierte Dienstleistungen ermittelt. Aus dieser Analyse heraus werden Herausforderungen und Verbesserungspotenziale der Anwendungen erkannt und mittels eines iterativen, agilen Entwicklungsansatzes verbessert. Darüber hinaus übernimmt FIT die Rolle des technischen Direktors und entwickelt eine Plattform für Galileo-Dienstleitungen.

Das Konsortium besteht aus Fraunhofer FIT, LINKS Foundation (Italien), CNET (Schweden), BQ (Spanien) und GreenApes (Italien). Das Projekt GOEASY wird bis 2020 mit der Pilotierung von ApesMobility und AsthmaWatch abgeschlossen.

GOEASY wird im Rahmen des EU-Programms Horizont 2020 finanziert.