Life Science Informatics

The Life Science Informatics department develops new approaches to produce highly specific information on diseases and individual patients.

After the sequencing of the human genome had been successfully completed, automatic instruments and computerized data analysis moved into the focus of biotechnology and medicine. On all levels, from molecular interaction to cellular function, tissue or organ structure, and the course of a disease in an individual patient, new instruments can produce information about the processes involved in a disease and can help to improve diagnosis and therapy.

This potential motivates our R&D in the field of information-intensive instruments using optical and electronic detection methods. We develop novel components, like fluidic microsystems to study cells and molecules, smart scanning microscopes and software for image analysis and object detection. We test and validate complete applications in cooperation with their users. We use our components to build application-specific systems that provide seamless integration in state-of-the-art network infrastructures and mobile access.

Computer scientists, engineers and natural scientists in two close collaborating groups work in our projects.

Groups and topics

High Content Analysis and software-intensive instruments (HCA)

Detection of structures, states and signals is a major component of automated instruments. The HCA group investigates detection methods and the information processing involved. A user-centered design approach guides the development of our technology: Users can adapt it without re-programming.

Biomolecular Optical Systems (BioMOS)

To build information-generating instruments you need to understand and control the interaction between assay and sensor system. The BioMOS group investigates microsystems to hold and treat biomolecular assays and multi-parametric, in particular optical sensor systems. We build systems incorporating these technologies and validate them in biological applications.

Research involving both groups

Life Science Informatik

Der Forschungsbereich Life Science Informatik entwickelt neue Ansätze zur Gewinnung krankheitsspezifischer und patientenindividueller Information. Mit der Sequenzierung des menschlichen Genoms haben sich automatisierte Instrumente und die computergestützte Datenauswertung in den Fokus von Biotechnologie und Medizin geschoben. Neue Instrumente können auf allen Ebenen, von der molekularen Interaktion und zellulären Funktion über die Gewebe- und Organstruktur bis hin zu patientenspezifischen Verläufen, Informationen über Krankheitsprozesse liefern und die klinische Diagnostik und Therapie voranbringen.

Deshalb erforschen und realisieren wir informationsintensive Instrumente auf Basis optischer und elektronischer Detektionsmethoden. Wir verwirklichen innovative Komponenten, wie fluidische Mikrosysteme zur Untersuchung von Zellen und Molekülen, intelligente Scanning-Mikroskope oder Software zur Bildanalyse und Objekterkennung. Wir validieren komplette Applikationen zusammen mit den Anwendern. Wir integrieren Komponenten zu anwendungsspezifischen Systemen mit einer nahtlosen Einbindung in moderne Netzwerkinfrastrukturen und mobile Informationszugänge.

Ein Team von Informatikern, Ingenieuren und Naturwissenschaftlern in zwei eng verzahnten Abteilungen bearbeitet gemeinsam kleine und große Projekte.

Abteilungen und Themen

High-Content Analyse und informationsintensive Instrumente (HCA)

Eine wesentliche Komponente automatisierter Instrumente ist die Erkennung von Strukturen, Zuständen und Signalen. Die Abteilung beschäftigt sich mit Erkennungsmethoden sowie der zugeordneten Informationsverarbeitung. Die Technik orientiert sich am Bedarf des Menschen und ist an sich verändernde Bedingungen anpassbar.

Biomolekulare Optische Systeme (BioMOS)

Zur Realisierung informationshaltiger Instrumente bedarf es auch der Beherrschung der Interaktion zwischen Probe und Sensorik. Die Abteilung beschäftigt sich mit Mikrosystemen zur Aufnahme und Behandlung biomolekularer Proben sowie mit multiparametrischer, insbesondere optischer Sensorik. Die Technologien werden zu Systemen integriert.

Ausbildung: Scientific Data Management for Life Sciences and Health Care

Fraunhofer-Anwendungszentrum SYMILA

Glück auf 4.0: Aufwärts durch Innovationen