Prof. Dr. Stefan Decker (executive)

Effective September 1, 2015, Prof. Stefan Decker was appointed Director of the Fraunhofer Institute for Applied Information Technology FIT, joining Prof. Matthias Jarke in this position. At the same time, Prof. Decker was appointed Full Professor of Information Systems and Databases at RWTH Aachen University. On 1st July, 2018, Prof. Dr. Matthias Jarke turned his position as Executive Director of FIT over to his colleague, Prof. Dr. Stefan Decker.

Since 2006, Stefan Decker served as Professor of Digital Enterprise at the National University of Ireland, and as Executive Director of the Digital Enterprise Research Institute (DERI), Galway. Decker studied Computer Science at University of Kaiserslautern, completed his doctorate at the Business Faculty of Karlsruhe Technical University and did post-doctoral research work at Stanford University and the University of Southern California.

Prof. Dr. Matthias Jarke

Fraunhofer FIT is headed by Prof. Matthias Jarke, who is also head of the Chair of Computer Science 5 (Information Systems) at RWTH Aachen University. Matthias Jarke is founding director of the Bonn-Aachen International Center for Information Technology (B-IT), which is supported by RWTH Aachen University, University of Bonn and Fraunhofer Gesellschaft. He was President of the German Informatics Society (GI) from 2004 - 2007. From 2010-2016, he also was chairman of Fraunhofer ICT Group.

Curriculum Vita Prof. Dr. Jarke

  • born 28.05.1952 in Hamburg, married, three children

University Career

  • 1972-1978 Diploma (Master) in Computer Science and Business Administration, Universität Hamburg
  • 1980 Doctorate in Operations Research, advisor: Herbert Jacob
  • 1981-1986 Assistant and Associate Professor of Computer Applications and Information Systems, Stern School of Business, New York University (early tenure: 1986)
  • 1986-1991 Professor of Dialog-Oriented Systems, Universität Passau
  • Since 1991 Professor of Information Systems, RWTH Aachen
  • 1992-2000 Chair, Informatics Department in the Faculty of Mathematics, Informatics, and Natural Sciences
  • Co-initiator of interdisciplinary curriculum "Technical Journalism IT" and of international master programs "Software Systems Engineering", "Media Informatics"
  • Member steering board, RWTH Future Concept "RWTH 2020 – Meeting Global Challenges"


  • Coordinator of several European projects on Information System Engineering
  • Co-Founder of DFG-funded Collaborative Research Centers on Computers and Chemical Engineering (SFB 476 IMPROVE) and on Media and Cultural Communications (SFB/FK 427)
  • since 2006 Area Coordinator "Mobile Applications and Services", DFG-Exzellenzcluster UMIC at RWTH Aachen University
  • Author of several books and over 200 refereed publications in journals and conferences

Research Management

  • since 2000 Executive Director, Fraunhofer Institute for Applied Information Technology FIT, Sankt Augustin
  • since 2003 Founding Director, Bonn-Aachen International Center for Information Technology (B-IT)
  • since 2006 Deputy Chairman, Fraunhofer ICT Group
  • since 2008 Speaker of NRW-funded doctoral training school B-IT Research School
  • 2010-2016 Chairman, Fraunhofer ICT Group


  • 1994-2004 European Editor, "Information Systems", program chair of numerous international conferences including VLDB, EDBT, CaiSE, SSDBM, CoopIS, Informatik 97
  • 1972-1977 Scholarship, Studienstiftung des Deutschen Volkes
  • Since 1995 six best paper awards and "best of" journal selections
  • Since 2006 Who is Who in the World
  • 2012 Fraunhofer Medal
  • 2012 Fellow, GI German Informatics Society
  • 2013 Member, acatech National Academy of Science and Engineering
  • 2014 Fellow, ACM Association for Computing Machinery


  • 1994-2004 European Editor, "Information Systems", program chair of numerous international conferences including VLDB, EDBT, CaiSE, SSDBM, CoopIS, Informatik 97
  • 2000-2007 Elected Member, DFG Review Board Informatics, member of numerous national and international advisory boards
  • 2000-2003 Vice President and Treasurer of German Informatics Society (GI)
  • 2004-2007 GI President
  • Scientific Coordinator, BMBF Science Year "Informatikjahr 2006"
  • 2009-2010 Vice President, European Research Council on Informatics and Mathematics (ERCIM)